Which Stoker Boiler

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Sat. Feb. 25, 2012 7:24 pm

Robby: when is the farm auction?? Take a camera with you, and post photos of the used stoker, even if you don't end up owning it..

as for maintenance, there's not much that a machinist can't rebuild, rebush, and refurb. So I wouldn't hesitate it it looks a bit rough, if the price is right.

Greg L.
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

Pacowy
Member
Posts: 2741
Joined: Tue. Sep. 04, 2007 10:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite
Location: Dalton, MA

Post Sat. Feb. 25, 2012 8:09 pm

I see where they had to break down the first batch they tested, but if you read down further in the thread they got some sized small by a breaker in MT that worked. It's pretty weird that the 520 will burn pure fines of this stuff. Since it will basically burn waste coal, that may make it easier to source over a bigger area.

Mike

niceheat
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon. Feb. 04, 2013 4:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: legend ou

Post Wed. Feb. 06, 2013 11:29 pm

I have a Legend outdoor coal furnace that I purchased around 9 years ago. It sat in the yard not hooked up until last winter. When I bought it I was told any handiman could hook it up. Unfortuneatly I am not a handyman so I had a hard time finding someone to do it. There was a big problem hooking it up as there was no manual or instructions that came with it, so this has been a big learning curve in figureing how this machine works, and have been learning the hard way of what not to do. There is very little help from dealers and I am not impressed with the lack of knowledge about the system from the people selling them. After several breakdowns of different kinds this winter and last winter, I have come to know this machine a lot better. There is a problem with these blowing smoke down the auger tube which is warm and when it goes into the hopper it condenses and builds up ice around the auger. This happened this winter and broke the auger in two. The dealer did not come up with any fix for this so we came up with our own which is working well now. I have this posted on this site. I am still having bridging problems which I think is only going to get solved by putting the hopper inside a heated building. I will use some loops inside the building to keep some warnth in there and it should be ok. My boyfriend who worked on this several times for me this winter says the stoker is a piece of junk and that it is put together pretty scabby. He says the gear box is not a good design. The boiler on the other hand I am happy with. There has been no problems with that at all. The stoker is made by Legend as well. I looked into other models before I bought this one and was considering a Coalman. I went and saw one that was close to where I live and the guy was very happy with it and his son was getting one too. He had an overhead hopper bottom bin and was all automated. He said there wasnt much work to maintain it at all. Mine on the other hand seems to need more maintenance than I was told it would. Maybe once I have all the bugs out of the setup, it wont be so much of a baby. I have lines going to my house to heat the 1500 sq ft floor and it is heating the whole house very well which is 3,000 sq ft. I also have lines going to a 16 wide mobile home with a radiator in the furnace. It is not hooked up completly the way it should be yet but it is helping out with heat. It needs more to heat to run more efficiently though. I had planned on heating a barn as well so I got the 14" which is 340,000 btu's. I feel it is a very effecient system, when it is running you see no smoke, only a little when it is idling. If I had more to heat it would be even more efficient. I know other people that have a Legend and they are happy with it and have run theirs for about 10 years.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Dennis
Member
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 5:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size
Location: Pottstown,Pa

Post Thu. Feb. 07, 2013 8:21 am

Hi and welcome.I'm guessing your burning bit coal? I would suggest you start a new topic about your furnace/boiler? in the bituminous section with your specific problems and questions.Please post pictures of your furnace/boiler? with your setup,that will help everyone to see first hand with what's going on.You came to the right place for help,just ask and were all here to help.

niceheat
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon. Feb. 04, 2013 4:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: legend ou

Post Thu. Feb. 07, 2013 10:13 am

Thank you for your advise. I was however responding to Robbies request to hear from people that have a Legend hot water furnace to hear about how they are. Yes I am using Bit coal as that is what is to be used in both Legend and Coalman brands. I am using coal from Dodds mine from east central Alberta which is supposed to be the best coal in my area of Central Alberta. It is highly recommended by the manufacturers.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”