Removing Stoker Unit

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
Post Reply
pac-rat
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 9:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 8:17 am

Hello,

I have been given a stoker unit, pot, grates, worm etc. from an EFM DF 520. My question is are there any concernes with removing the stoker unit, and leaving the oil gun in. The boiler is still in service.Will that change the the performance of the oil gun. I know I will have to close the holes on the side plates where the stoker and worm pipe entered the base. Should I block off the area above the ash pan. Any info would be appreciated.

CoalUserWannabe
Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu. Jan. 13, 2011 3:00 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Kodiak

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 8:44 am

I guess if you are keeping the oil burner, and removing the coal section, Congratulations:
You don't belong with us anymore since we are part of the 99 %.

Cheers

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5104
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 9:11 am

CoalUserWannabe wrote:I guess if you are keeping the oil burner, and removing the coal section, Congratulations:
You don't belong with us anymore since we are part of the 99 %.

Cheers
I understood pac-rat's question to be that the stoker unit he is getting, is coming out of a friend's DF520, and his friend will be keeping just the oil gun operating in the boiler.
Sounds like pac-rat is getting the stoker for his boiler.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

CatholicBoy1957
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun. Jan. 23, 2011 6:59 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 1967 AP520-1 & S20
Location: Allentown Suburbs Northampton

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 11:53 am

pac is still one of us! :) His benefactor isn't.

pac-rat
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 9:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 4:05 pm

I am staying with coal. Until I get too old to take care of it. I did a barter for this stoker unit it was only used for 2 or 3 seasons, and they stopped using coal because of their age and they were not abel to take care of it. Something I am not looking forward to myself. Anyway it has not been used for 25 years, so I know there is alot of life left in it. They said if I take the unit I have to take the coal as well, that almost broke the deal... Not. I did not want to remove the stoker unit if it would cause any problems with the pot out of the combustion chamber, if it would let too much hot gases or what have you enter into the base and cause negative effects with combustion. CoalUserWannabe... sounded like you were "kickin me out of the club". :( But it was nice to see some of you are still accepting. :)

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 4:18 pm

When the pot assy. is removed and only oil is used, usually the base is filled in to reduce the size of the combustion area. There used to be blank plates available to replace the two covers removed, but I haven't seen any for quite awhile. You could ask Jay up at efm if any have been made. If you're filling in the base anyway, you can put any steel there, but you'll have to adjust the air settings for air and draft.
‹(•¿•)›

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
AA130FIREMAN
Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 4:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: axeman anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: 130 anthratube

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 4:57 pm

pac-rat wrote:I am staying with coal. Until I get too old to take care of it. I did a barter for this stoker unit it was only used for 2 or 3 seasons, and they stopped using coal because of their age and they were not abel to take care of it. Something I am not looking forward to myself. Anyway it has not been used for 25 years, so I know there is alot of life left in it. They said if I take the unit I have to take the coal as well, that almost broke the deal... Not. I did not want to remove the stoker unit if it would cause any problems with the pot out of the combustion chamber, if it would let too much hot gases or what have you enter into the base and cause negative effects with combustion. CoalUserWannabe... sounded like you were "kickin me out of the club". :( But it was nice to see some of you are still accepting. :)
Did this come out of a corner house that is in a small town pa. across the street from a red brick church.

pac-rat
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 9:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2012 5:19 pm

Thanks... Stoker-man.

AA130FIREMAN---- It is coming out of the house on the other side of town where the tall oak tree used to be.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”