Aquastate Wireing Questions on 520

Post Reply
robbs64
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed. Dec. 14, 2011 8:05 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520df / 1992

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 5:52 pm

i have my boiler set up with a taco 120 circulator on primary loop and (five) taco # 7 circulators running for secondary loop floor heat 10000sq foot building pex in floor ,will the aquastate
on the boiler handle all six circulators when thermstate calls for heat or should I add additional relay

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 6:53 pm

Do you have the zone circulators hooked up to a relay control box?

robbs64
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed. Dec. 14, 2011 8:05 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520df / 1992

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 7:37 pm

no I came out of aquastate to 4x4 box and bugged primay and secondary cir in

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 7:40 pm

What model is the aquastat and all the circulators? You need to add up the amp draw of all the circulators.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

robbs64
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed. Dec. 14, 2011 8:05 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520df / 1992

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 7:47 pm

the aquastate is the 8145A (i think thats the number) primary is taco 120 2.3 amps, secondary has (5) taco #7 ( again I think thats the number the small taco circulators ) they draw .71 amps each

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 8:21 pm

Normally R845As would be used for each circulator or there are panels that will handle 4 circulators.

robbs64
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed. Dec. 14, 2011 8:05 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520df / 1992

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 8:25 pm

evan if I want all to run at once one zone with primary loop ?

robbs64
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed. Dec. 14, 2011 8:05 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520df / 1992

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 8:42 pm

i just walked outto shop and looked its a L8124 a aqustat, taco 120 primary cir, and taco 007 cir, 5 of them

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
Scottscoaled
Member
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue. Jan. 08, 2008 9:51 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520, 700, Van Wert 800 GJ 61,53
Baseburners & Antiques: Magic Stewart 16, times 2!
Coal Size/Type: Lots of buck
Other Heating: Slant Fin electric boiler backup
Location: Malta N.Y.

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 8:46 pm

I would put a 10 amp relay in and run the secondary pumps with it. You are close enough to the rating that it would be better safe than sorry. Besides, a relay is only $10, small money to pay compared to a L8124A. ;)

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 8:48 pm

The manual says the circulator circuit in the L8124a can handle 7.4 amps. You might overheat that relay on a long heat call...probably a good idea to put the 007's on their own relay.

robbs64
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed. Dec. 14, 2011 8:05 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520df / 1992

Post Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 9:01 pm

thanks ill do that

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”