Coal Ash Clinkers!!!

Post Reply
ODDSNENDS4U
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Oct. 07, 2009 6:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: Newtown PA Heating 5600 Sq. Ft. built in 1854

Post Mon. Jan. 04, 2010 8:30 pm

A new problem that came about 2 weeks ago is that the ashes do not fall well into the ash pan. They clinker up and get caught up. I have to poker them down every day?
I am using the same coal that I have used for 2 years and just now am having this problem. Any hints on why this is happening? I burn rice coal from Superior!!
Dennis

lincolnmania
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Fri. Jan. 26, 2007 9:55 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: alaska kodiak stoker 1986. 1987 triburner, 1987 crane diamond
Location: Birdsboro PA.
Contact:

Post Mon. Jan. 04, 2010 9:13 pm

hey dennis i'm in newtown also
i'm also burning rice from superior, and have noticed the ash cakes with half burnt coal stuck to them that I started noticing on the last load of coal.....at least I don't have to poke mine down......have been playing around with my air and feed settings, and just figured it's from my chimney with too much draft......my ash looks like granola with some black pieces (the ones sticking to the ash)

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12754
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Mon. Jan. 04, 2010 10:04 pm

From my understanding Superior has a high iron content, if you fire it too hot you'll get clinkers.

ODDSNENDS4U
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Oct. 07, 2009 6:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: Newtown PA Heating 5600 Sq. Ft. built in 1854

Post Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 8:43 am

Hi,
Is there anything I can do to stop the clinkers?
Dennis

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

ODDSNENDS4U
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Oct. 07, 2009 6:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: Newtown PA Heating 5600 Sq. Ft. built in 1854

Post Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 8:39 pm

Hi,
IS there any coal local to Pottsville area that will not give me clinkers?
Dennis

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5868
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 8:47 am

Sometimes burning it HOT for extended periods (when it's really cold which it has been with a good draft) will cause more clinkers. I had that problem with one of my stoves before I put a baro on it, it was burning way too hot to keep up and formed and ash bridge/clinker, clogged up and made a real mess.....I know the EFM's are a bit different stoker, but it happens in regular stoves too. I ran a 50/50 mix with buckwheat in my Keystoker and it helped some.

ODDSNENDS4U
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Oct. 07, 2009 6:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: Newtown PA Heating 5600 Sq. Ft. built in 1854

Post Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 4:02 pm

Hi WNY,
What is a BARO?
Dennis

sootman
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon. Jul. 21, 2008 2:35 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: 1953 efm 520 high boy
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman mag
Location: Cooperstown NY

Post Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 5:44 pm

ODDSNENDS4U wrote:Hi WNY,
What is a BARO?
Dennis
It's one of those two handle things you move heavy stuff around in after the wheel falls off :roll:

Glenn

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

ODDSNENDS4U
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Oct. 07, 2009 6:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: Newtown PA Heating 5600 Sq. Ft. built in 1854

Post Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 7:13 pm

sootman wrote:
ODDSNENDS4U wrote:Hi WNY,
What is a BARO?
Dennis
It's one of those two handle things you move heavy stuff around in after the wheel falls off :roll:

Glenn
WISE GUY LOL
DENNIS

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 8:53 pm

barometric damper. you need one if you don't have one.

ODDSNENDS4U
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Oct. 07, 2009 6:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: Newtown PA Heating 5600 Sq. Ft. built in 1854

Post Thu. Jan. 07, 2010 10:35 am

Hi,
What is the proper setting for a BARO. Mine is always about 30 degrees open.
Dennis

cabinover
Member
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed. Feb. 04, 2009 7:13 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid Axeman Anderson 130
Baseburners & Antiques: Sparkle #12
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Buckwheat, Nut
Other Heating: LP Hot air. WA TX for coal use.
Location: Fair Haven, VT

Post Thu. Jan. 07, 2010 11:31 am

The proper setting is the one that allows the proper draft through your firebed and no more than that. You will need a manometer to set it properly.

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Thu. Jan. 07, 2010 9:06 pm

try for .02 negative at the door and .04 neg. at the breach.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic & Steam)”