Using a Boiler Circulating Pump but Not Getting Heat

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:50 pm

I'm going right now be right back

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:51 pm

It looks like your limits are transposed, the high limit being lower than the lower limit. Set the low at 140* and the high at 165*. Please back up and take a picture, I want to know if this control is on the oil or coal unit.

Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:52 pm

there is a black wire already on B1 what do I do about it??

Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:53 pm

it is on the oil furnace

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:56 pm

Could you post two full view pictures of your coal unit?

Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:57 pm

I will go take one

Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 11:09 pm

got them
Attachments
IMGP0129.jpg
IMGP0126.jpg

TGMC
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun. Dec. 10, 2006 10:09 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: KEYSTOKER
Stove/Furnace Model: KB 8
Location: PITTSTON ,PENNA

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 11:17 pm

lost lady
dont worry about rewiring your aquastat. turn the lo limit all the way down on the oil boiler. set the high limit about 10* higher , this shiuld let the pump run for you. the zone valves look like old honeywell units, if they are they might stay open without power. if you ran out of oil, and the protector relay tripped ,dont touch the red button and the oil gun will not try to light. hope this helps.

pittston val

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 11:18 pm

I will go change them right now.
Thank You
Sharon

User avatar
keyman512us
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 2:16 am
Location: North Worc. CTY MA

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 12:09 am

Sharon...try the aquastat settings...if still no luck swap that wire. Be real nice and easy with those temp setting knobs....that aquastat is no spring chicken. Good luck...

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 8:04 am

Do not change any wiring. Your coal unit is a stove, not a boiler. It does not heat the water. You need some #2 oil or some diesel fuel in your tank and get the oil burner going as that stove will not heat your house in this weather. You will need to bleed the burners pump if it ran dry to restart it. Get some oil somehow and we can talk you through the resart. You need to correct the settings for the oil burner on the aquastat too as mentioned (the control box).

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 8:29 am

Coaledsweat, there are copper pipes and a watts valve on the back of the boiler. I'm pretty sure it is a boiler.

Although It sure looks like a stove from the front. I have to agree. At first glance without seeing the copper pipeing at the back it sure looks like a stove.

The Hitzer stoves however, are not built in this configuration, the furnaces and boilers are.

Greg L
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

User avatar
europachris
Member
Posts: 993
Joined: Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 5:54 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM 350/Iron Fireman
Stove/Furnace Model: Custom bituminous burner
Location: N. Central Illinois

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 9:31 am

It might just be a water coil, though, and not really enough to heat a whole house. I don't think that's a boiler, either.

Chris

Lost Lady
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri. Feb. 02, 2007 11:27 am
Location: NE OHIO

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 9:41 am

The water line that I have for the hitzer is built into the unit the water lines or coils are inside for the unit.Hitzer calls it a boiler unit.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 9:45 am

One pipe does not make it a boiler, I would like to see a couple more before I concurr. She needs to call the town or state for some heating assistance, there are programs to help people when they have problems like this. I can't stand this, she needs help.

Lost Lady, how about a picture of the back side of your coal unit?

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”