Outfire

Stoker Coal Boilers automatically feed the coal and have controls and pumps just like any conventions boiler. They are intended to be used as a primary heat and often have domestic hot water coils as an added bonus. They can be set up independently or in dual sytem with your existing oil/gas boiler. They can accommodate both hot water base board or steam plumbing.
Post Reply
User avatar
billw
Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon. Apr. 24, 2006 5:40 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM 520
Stove/Furnace Model: GOODBYE OIL COMPANY
Location: Dallas, PA

Post Fri. Apr. 03, 2009 7:40 pm

The dam boiler went out today. It was my own fault. I turned the feed rate and air back to where I ran it during the autumn but forgot to add 30 seconds to my timer. Dam rookie mistake.

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6606
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 5:41 am

Dang! I hope you didn't end up with 1000 pounds of coal in the ash pan. Bet ya don't make that same mistake again!
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 7:09 am

I hope you didn't end up with 1000 pounds of coal in the ash pan.
Not if you use the L6006 control.
‹(•¿•)›

User avatar
billw
Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon. Apr. 24, 2006 5:40 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM 520
Stove/Furnace Model: GOODBYE OIL COMPANY
Location: Dallas, PA

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 7:32 am

No L006 only half an ash pan full of coal before I shut it down. Won't make that mistake again.

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
whistlenut
Member
Posts: 3549
Joined: Sat. Mar. 17, 2007 6:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska, EFM, Keystoker, Yellow Flame
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska, Keystoker-2,Leisure Line
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska, Gibraltar, Keystone,Vc Vigilant 2
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Ford, Jensen, NYer, Van Wert,
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwoods
Coal Size/Type: Barley, Buck, Rice ,Nut, Stove
Other Heating: Oil HWBB
Location: Central NH, Concord area

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 9:26 am

No matter what, you cannot outsmart Mother Nature. The wedding has you so consumed that you just got too frugal with the air/feed ratio. Perhaps you read about many members shuttin' it down and thought you were in Miami for a split second. It's 31 out here right now and windy.
Must be Stoker Scott's 'Hot Air Recapture and Recycle Capsule" from Albany suffered a big blowout/bypass! Man there is a blast, but it is cold. Must be Elliot's wife talking about his Monday appearance on the Today show! I wonder if she is upset about the 'J Edgar H dress-down day' segment......

Soooooo Bill what are you running? 3/3; 2.5/3 or are you back up to 3.5/4? The Keystoker guys are way up at 11.5 or 12, what's that all about? The AA and AHS guys are....wait a minute, they don't have to fool with it anyway. Never seen a Harman, so don't know what they can do. I know it is similar to the Alaska. Bottom feeder vs top feeders... :funny: :no1: :nono: :pepsi:

User avatar
cArNaGe
Member
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed. Dec. 12, 2007 11:34 pm
Location: Montrose, PA
Contact:

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 2:12 pm

Same thing for me Bill. Except I forgot to turn the power back on. Woke up the next A.M. to a cold house.

User avatar
billw
Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon. Apr. 24, 2006 5:40 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM 520
Stove/Furnace Model: GOODBYE OIL COMPANY
Location: Dallas, PA

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Whistlenut,
During the winter I run at 4 teeth, 4 1/2 air, and backed the timer down to one minute. I backed down to three teeth, 4 air but forgot to put the timer back up to two minutes.

User avatar
whistlenut
Member
Posts: 3549
Joined: Sat. Mar. 17, 2007 6:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska, EFM, Keystoker, Yellow Flame
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska, Keystoker-2,Leisure Line
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska, Gibraltar, Keystone,Vc Vigilant 2
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Ford, Jensen, NYer, Van Wert,
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwoods
Coal Size/Type: Barley, Buck, Rice ,Nut, Stove
Other Heating: Oil HWBB
Location: Central NH, Concord area

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 4:22 pm

I run 5 teeth and 4.5 air when burning Buck and it seems to be OK. I turn the timer off for the winter, and your post jogged my memory to go out and re-enable it. Thanks, so I won't have to post another note like yours. I pulled a 'carnage' and turn off the power when working on timers and wiring things and forget to turn it back on again. I did it two weeks ago for 6 hours and when I caught it, all I did was flip the switch back on and in 20 minutes we were at full fire. Luck, not skill, sometimes plays a very important part in burning coal.....or even in life.
:wacko: :yes: :stretcher: :crutch:

Visit Alternate Heating Sytems

User avatar
stoker-man
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 2063
Joined: Mon. Nov. 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: 1981 efm wcb-24 in use 365 days a year
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Chestnut
Other Heating: Hearthstone wood stove
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 5:15 pm

Whistlenut, how many of your units do you use? at one time?
‹(•¿•)›

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6606
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 6:01 pm

I learned long ago....luck scores the same as skill!

How does one make a 6006 shut things down if there's an outfire? Have two instead of one & set it at 110*?
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

User avatar
cArNaGe
Member
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed. Dec. 12, 2007 11:34 pm
Location: Montrose, PA
Contact:

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 6:11 pm

It's in the manual Freddy, but basicly it opens the circuit to the stoker when the water temp drops to a set temp.

Mark (PA)
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu. Feb. 28, 2008 9:40 am
Stove/Furnace Make: 1953 EFM SF-520 High Boy
Stove/Furnace Model: Fitzgibbon Boiler
Location: South Central, PA

Post Sat. Apr. 04, 2009 6:14 pm

I'm still running 4 /4.5 on mine but I am turning back my high setpoint today. and pulling my low setpoint down 10 deg too maybe... we are getting there... come on sprint. I still have my timer the same as in winter. Probably could shut it off in winter maybe...

Freddy. L6006... Like Carn said. Simply turns off power to the stoker when temp in boiler or on pipe (depending on the Model) gets to a certain temp Thus stopping the stoker from stoking!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Boilers Using Anthracite (Hydronic and Steam)”