TARM OT 35 Setup

Ken in NH

Post by Ken in NH » Sun. Jan. 25, 2009 9:52 pm

Hi I am a newbie here, not sure this is the proper spot to post this

i have a 3600 sq ft home and 2600 sq ft basement 700 sq ft garage and 15 ft high cathedral ceilings
not tryin to brag. we bought this 4 yr old forclosure a yr ago for much less than it would have cost to build even if I built
it myself. but heating this monster is depressing. there is a 60000 BTU nordyne 90 to 95 percent (ya sure it is)
efficient propane hvac furnace in the basement and a 1000 gallon fuel tank buried in the backyard. I knew that we should get a wood stove with 15 acres to harvest wood it just made sense, so I bought the biggest wood stove that I could get from a local dealer and installed it myself in the basement, thinking heat rises, this would give me a nice warm workshop and help heating the main living floor above. ya the basement is very comfortable and the main floor errrrrrrrr that part just ain't helpin I have used 750 gallons of propane since oct 1st at 2.71 per gallon thats getting way too expensive. an all this winter I thought we were conserving, thermastat lowered to 58 at bed time and only 65 during day when home 58 when out.
I just got my used TARM OT 35 this weekend. the wife and I went 100 miles with our util trailer to pick it up. 1600 dollars for a combo wood boiler oil backup unit and a built in domestic hot water section, I am very ecited about this system and plan to install a heat exchanger in the havc plenum and add additional zones for the garage and the basement. I will also move the wood stove up to the living room with the high ceiling., thinkin I may not have to use the upstairs wood stove all that much,i hope. the tarm is rate for 112000 BTU on the wood section and the oil section rated 140000. does this make sense to all of you or am I just nuts. thanks ken

coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea