Kachelofen and Masonry Wood Stoves

kozel

Post by kozel » Sat. Oct. 04, 2008 11:14 am

I have a son in Colorado and he is interested in an alternate heat source. I think anthracite is pretty much out of the question. Does anyone here have any experience with this type of stove? Sometimes they are called Russian Stoves or Finnish Stoves or German tile stoves. They can be masonry, ceramic tile or soapstone. The intent is not to have a constant fire burning but 1 to 2 very hot fires per day.
**Broken Link(s) Removed**http://chimneykeepers.com/masonheater.html
http://www.ceramicstoday.com/articles/kachelofen.htm

Adamiscold

Post by Adamiscold » Mon. Oct. 06, 2008 9:00 am

I have no experience with them but we did talk a little about it towards the bottom of this thread Cost of A Cord of Wood.

charlie
Stoker Coal Boiler: Prill 200 BF
Other Heating: Tulikivi TTU 2700

Post by charlie » Mon. Oct. 06, 2008 7:51 pm

Yes, I have a soapstone stove. 6000 pounds worth, and it is fantastic. Mine has a bake oven in it as well, though rather than fire it, I often use the residual heat from the main firebox to be my slow-cooker. I fire it once or twice a day, depending on the weather. How much I fire it also depends on the weather... between 30 and 60 pounds, but also depends on the type of wood I'm burning. Dry wood is absolutely imperative. More firing or more wood is wasteful and ineffective. Burn it hot and fast and shut it down. I can fire it hot at night and in the morning, the soapstone in places will still be too hot to lean against. I use maybe 6 crumpled pages of newspaper, under a criss-crossed stack of wood, light a match, and within a minute, it's fully a-blaze.

My ONLY regret with it is that I didn't have them put some piping through it that I could join onto my boiler system to carry that heat into other parts of the house.

http://www.warmstone.com

envisage
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Werner Foundry 350a