Looking to Retire My Central Wood Boiler to Geo or Coal???

swyman
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson 260M Leisure Line AA-220 Boiler (FOR SALE)
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Pea

Post by swyman » Tue. Apr. 14, 2015 5:53 am

I have been burning wood in my Central Wood Boiler for 8 years now and looks like I will be losing my wood source within the next year. My cousin is a new Leisure Line dealer and is trying to talk me into coal. Just for a little background check I had a Amazing Heat corn boiler for 3 years prior to buying the Central. Corn prices went crazy and I was able to sell my unit for wood...which was a hard decision as I burned wood all my life and know how much work is involved which is why I went to corn on my first home. So here I am again looking for an easy on the body alternative. Personally I like the thought of Geothermal but I am willing to keep my options open and hopefully get some advice from you folks that have either a coal boiler or geothermal. Question about the AA-220.....will it be similar to what I have now which is a Central 6048 which is supposed to be 500k BTU. The system works very well but I am worried the AA-220's 42 gallon capacity. My central holds around 400 gallons and when my system is running I will have 185* water leaving the boiler and 130* returning on my 1" line. With the centrals water capacity it doesn't seem to have any trouble but with the 220's 42 gal it seems like it could shock the boiler? Also could I still use my pex line from my wood boilers location and install the coal burner in the same spot? Or will geo give me great results? Currently heating a very old 2 story farmhouse (approx. 2400sqft), domestic hot water, and a 3 car garage. I can give more information if need and thank you in advance for advice!
Shane

windyhill4.2
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1960 EFM520 installed in truck box
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404 with variable blower
Coal Size/Type: 404-nut, 520 rice ,anthracite for both