Gas Parlor Stove Help

Userj8670

Post by Userj8670 » Thu. Jan. 08, 2015 11:53 am

Hey everyone- my name is Jim and I am new to this section of the forums. I currently have a No.120 Amherst Champion gas stove that I am using to heat the garage and I am a bit dissapointed with its performance. I was wondering what my options are to increase the heat output of this stove? I let it run "wide open" all day and the temp is still only 50 in there. Was hoping this stove would be able to be run wide open then dialed back but doesn't seem to have the hp. I have a magnetic therm 12 inches up the stack reading about 170. Please see pix.

P.s. I apologize for the sideways pictures I'm not really sure how to correct that

Attachments

20150105_010135.jpg
.JPG | 88.1KB | 20150105_010135.jpg
20150105_040121.jpg
.JPG | 92.9KB | 20150105_040121.jpg

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WNY » Thu. Jan. 08, 2015 5:06 pm

First of all, is your garage insulated? etc.... how big of a space are you trying to heat.?

Have you cleaned the burners, everything adjusted properly. it just may not have enough output for what you are trying to heat.

I wouldn't think those stove put out more than 40-60K BTU depending on the size of the burners, etc....

Userj8670

Post by Userj8670 » Fri. Jan. 09, 2015 1:20 am

WNY wrote:First of all, is your garage insulated? etc.... how big of a space are you trying to heat.?

Have you cleaned the burners, everything adjusted properly. it just may not have enough output for what you are trying to heat.

I wouldn't think those stove put out more than 40-60K BTU depending on the size of the burners, etc....