Propane Boiler

For topics about heating with other types of fuel such as wood burners, gas furnaces, oil burners and geothermal heat pumps.
Post Reply
User avatar
idruthrbfishin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue. Oct. 13, 2009 3:26 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman stoker
Stove/Furnace Model: verti-flow
Location: North Central PA

Post Tue. Jan. 22, 2013 10:35 pm

A friend of mine has been having trouble with his propane fired boiler. The flame is signifigantly higher than it should be. I checked the incoming gas pressure at the boiler - 11" w.c. before the valve, with about 8"w.c. after the valve. Pressure should be 3-4"w.c. after the valve. He called his gas supplier. They sent a service guy out who checked everything and said he couldn't find anything wrong. Then my friend told the service guy that I had checked the valve, and told him what I had found. So the service guy checks and says, "yeah, the valve is bad." So, they replace the valve. ($200.00) Now the flame is not nearly as high, but still higher than it should be. Then Mr. Service Man tells him that his gas lines are worn out, and they can replace them for "around $800.00." Thing is, everything else in the house works fine; gas dryer, gas water heater, and gas range/oven. The gas lines are 3/4" soft copper. Now, I'm a refrigeration mechanic by trade, and I don't have alot of experience working with gas units, but I think I smell a rat. I have seen copper get eroded from the inside out by chlorine water, but am unaware of this problem with propane. Is this possible? Does propane erode gas lines? And if it does, why would everything else in the house work as it should? I have heard story after story about this particular gas supplier and their service guys milking major bucks out of unsuspecting homeowners.


User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6009
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 12:28 pm

Let's see, replace copper with black pipe, get paid $800.00 and head straight to scrap dealer with the old copper pipe.
Not bad for a days work. :o
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9827
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 7:04 pm

Copper can fail when around or in concrete.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.

User avatar
idruthrbfishin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue. Oct. 13, 2009 3:26 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman stoker
Stove/Furnace Model: verti-flow
Location: North Central PA

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 7:28 pm

coaledsweat wrote:Copper can fail when around or in concrete.
The only place it is in or around concrete is where it comes through the foundation. If that was the issue, I'd suspect I wouldn't have 11" w.c. like I have.

User avatar
tsb
Member
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 8:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Binford 2000
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pioneer top vent
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Saey Hanover II
Baseburners & Antiques: Grander Golden Oak , Glenwood # 6
Coal Size/Type: All of them
Location: Douglassville, Pa

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 8:51 pm

Find another Mr. Service man. The burner just needs to be adjusted.
If the pipe was bad, there would be a leak or no gas at all.
$200.00 for the valve is a bit high.
Coal -- It's not a hobby, It's an addiction.

User avatar
whistlenut
Member
Posts: 3549
Joined: Sat. Mar. 17, 2007 6:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska, EFM, Keystoker, Yellow Flame
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska, Keystoker-2,Leisure Line
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska, Gibraltar, Keystone,Vc Vigilant 2
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Ford, Jensen, NYer, Van Wert,
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwoods
Coal Size/Type: Barley, Buck, Rice ,Nut, Stove
Other Heating: Oil HWBB
Location: Central NH, Concord area

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 9:11 pm

I'm with TSB, something is not being addressed and throwing parts at it won't make you sleep any better, unless there is a resolution. I'm with you on the concrete/copper issue, but I'm assuming they drilled a hole in the wall, so it isn't like a direct contact, however IMO the line should ALWAYS be sleeved, no matter where it passes through or travels. Cleaning and adjusting sure seems to be the first thing done, and meanwhile don't do anything foolish....please
"Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a 'piece of human solid waste' by the clean end." More true today....

User avatar
blrman07
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Mon. Sep. 27, 2010 3:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Bucket a Day
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant Casting 2310
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Wood in the VC and anything that will fit in the Bucket a Day. It's not fussy.
Location: Girardville Pa.

Post Thu. Jan. 24, 2013 6:55 am

Replacing the gas pipe won't control the flame height. A bad gas pipe will leak propane and drain your wallet. I'm with the others. What you need is a new service man who knows how to adjust the burner.
Rev. Larry
Ashland Pa.

1 John 1:9... If we sin and we confess that sin He is faithful and just and will forgive us and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

waldo lemieux
Member
Posts: 2261
Joined: Sun. Sep. 30, 2012 8:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: s-20
Location: Ithaca,NY

Post Thu. Jan. 24, 2013 8:28 am

Mornin'

Im in agreement about the new service tech. If there was any problem with the pipe the flame would be smaller not larger. Just a thought but have you checked the orifice. If ya got a NG orifice in there
youd have crazy flames. If at sometime in the past you had a gas pressure issue someone may have put an oversize orifice in there. Or if you have a newer unit that has the flip over kind maybe the gremlins have got the thing in backwards. Just thinkin on the keyboard........

Waldo
When faced with a seemingly impossible task, my grandfather always said "can't never can, untill try comes along"


Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Thu. Jan. 24, 2013 8:50 am

Have you or your neighbor inspected the regulator at the propane tank itself?
it appears there is too much in coming pressure...
regulators need to be able to drain and vent properly ...
if they don't water or freezing temps can affect how they regulate gas pressure...... I would start there... just my 2 cents
..i would inspect the vent at the regulator carefully...
..vents need to "drain" properly...and should be pointed down
debris or ice can Lodge between the nozzle and disc seat.. allowing over pressurize downstream..
....'Rigar

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6606
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Thu. Jan. 24, 2013 1:12 pm

The thing that needs replacing is the service tech.

Here in Maine all gas & oil copper tube that is on or in concrete must be in a protective plastic cover. You can buy it with an orange plastic molded on, or you can put it in the blue flex tube.
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

cabinover
Member
Posts: 1589
Joined: Wed. Feb. 04, 2009 7:13 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid Axeman Anderson 130
Baseburners & Antiques: Sparkle #12
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Buckwheat, Nut
Other Heating: LP Hot air. WA TX for coal use.
Location: Fair Haven, VT

Post Fri. Jan. 25, 2013 5:58 am

Propane does not erode lines. The only reason to change lines would be to get more gas volume for the whole house, not just one appliance.

What make and model is this boiler? Sounds kinda like you have a NG orifice in the burner.

Where did you guys come up with the .3-.4 WC after the valve? That sounds like Natural Gas levels.

Propane needs around .10-.11 WC most times.
Always learning, still stupid though :D

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Tue. Jan. 29, 2013 5:42 am

Idruthrbfishin.....

Any update on that boiler situation ?
....'Rigar

User avatar
idruthrbfishin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue. Oct. 13, 2009 3:26 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman stoker
Stove/Furnace Model: verti-flow
Location: North Central PA

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 10:03 am

Rigar wrote:Idruthrbfishin.....

Any update on that boiler situation ?
So, finally convinced him that he was being taken for a ride, he said he was going to call one of the more reputable service companies in this area.

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 3:30 pm

Flame still burning bad ?..
Anything change ?
....'Rigar

oilman
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat. Feb. 04, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Central New York

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 7:18 pm

cabinover wrote:Propane does not erode lines. The only reason to change lines would be to get more gas volume for the whole house, not just one appliance.

What make and model is this boiler? Sounds kinda like you have a NG orifice in the burner.

Where did you guys come up with the .3-.4 WC after the valve? That sounds like Natural Gas levels.

Propane needs around .10-.11 WC most times.
you're right......those pressures don't jive.
Oil & Coal Burner Service Specialist


Post Reply

Return to “Wood, Pellets, Gas, Oil, Geothermal & Other Heating Types”