Owb Vs Indoor Wood/Coal Boiler

deerslayer

Post by deerslayer » Tue. Jan. 01, 2013 10:01 am

hey guys,newbie here.currently have new yorker oil fired boiler.have access to free wood at work,gettin paid to cut and remove its a good deal I think.was thinkin of hawkens
owb but costs start adding up on install or indoor wood/coal boiler.looking at Harman sf160 or 260,new yorker wc130,or ahs woc40.my brain is fried from looking at all options.leaning toward ahs cause can remove current boiler and not have to build chimney which was quoted 3500,can burn wood while my body can still cut and split only 42,can use coal when get older and just turn up t-stat for oil when near death lol.any input would be greatly appreciated. thanx. also does anyone know approx pricing on the ahs woc40 multi-fuel boiler.

Dennis
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size

Post by Dennis » Tue. Jan. 01, 2013 10:26 am

Hi deerslayer and welcome.where are you from and how was the deer slaying this year.I have a AHS WOC55 a next size larger than woc-40.I've never burned wood in it,but i'm sure it will burn wood fine.I burn nut size UAE(anthracite coal) and should step up to stove size.The oil burner sounds like a jet airplane taking off,but never use it.They are built solid and I don't have any problems with the boiler.I like having the boiler in the basement witch keeps it 70 degrees and floors are always warm.If you can get free wood while getting payed thats great,just keep the chimney clean from cresote and need to set the alarm to fed the fire during the night.I get 12 hr burns with coal and fire never goes out and never leave the house to feed the fire(coal bin in basement).
The other boiler are good also,maybe someone else will chime in on them.

Boots
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Burnham SFB 101 (sold)

Post by Boots » Tue. Jan. 01, 2013 10:36 am