My first winter burning coal Glenwood #116

Southern Coal Burner
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Modern Oak #116
Coal Size/Type: Stove Size/Lehigh Anthracite

Post by Southern Coal Burner » Thu. Feb. 24, 2022 1:20 pm

This is my first time on any forum. I found so much great and helpful information on this site that I thought I would share some of my experiences and lessons learned.
I'm in the Southeastern part of Virginia. I know most of you readers live in far colder climates, but we still have nighttime lose in the 20's and many days with highs only in the 30's. But I'm getting older and just don't much care for being cold.
So first a little about the stove. Through a little research and with the help of this forum I opted for a Glenwood Modern Oak #116. I had one of the stove shops in New England get one ready for me and did a quick road trip to pick it up.
The good. I thought the price was fair considering the new parts that went into the stove and the cost of nickel plating. The bad. Neither of the doors fit well and the cement on the joints is less than impressive. The load door fit so poorly that it would not even make the latch and of course the bottom door had severe air leakage. But it didn't take me long to solve those problems. I guess I just expected more from a shop that specializes in old stoves.