Help with Identification of Coal Stove NEW GUY ALERT!

Hillbilly John
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Mystery
Baseburners & Antiques: Mystery

Post by Hillbilly John » Mon. Sep. 28, 2020 12:00 am

Hi, total newbie here.

Just picked this up on the cheap. Thinking about replacing my pathetic sauna stove with this. Want to be able to keep a longer burn with out futzing with reloading a tiny stove(seriously, you couldn't get a 12-pack in this thing...gotta reload 4-5 times to get da'sauna warmed up). Worried about smell in small space but I have a similar sized wood stove in the on-deck circle if it doesn't work out.

Wondering if anyone knows the brand. There is a model number or something on the side but no brand name.

They guy I bought it from also had a pretty good load of large coal briquettes...shaped like Kingsford charcoal but at least double the size and pitch black. He was pretty sure it was coal. He never used it as it came with his house. I took a bucket full but if I think this is going to work out, he'd like me to take it all. Where do folks buy this? Coal is not really a thing here in the hinterlands of Northern Wisconsin.

Also came with Field Atmospheric Damper which I'm researching how to setup. Burned wood for 35 years but never used one of these.

Thanks for any help in identifying and advice for use. I was surprised I couldn't find this online as I've seen at least 4 of these listed for sale online locally in the last few months.
CoalStove.jpg
.JPG | 54.6KB | CoalStove.jpg

LeoinRI
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Fonderies de Lion
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: J.S. Peckham Chicago #10, Weso, Our Glenwood 111, Sougland Excelsior 183

Post by LeoinRI » Mon. Sep. 28, 2020 5:13 am

John,
Adding a few pictures of the interior and dimensions of firebox will help to identify how it will perform.
Leo

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Mon. Sep. 28, 2020 6:02 am