can you help me with a French coal stove?

someboater

Post by someboater » Thu. May. 10, 2018 9:51 am

Hi

I'm from England and I have just purchased a very small "Sougland No.1" French coal stove to put in my boat. I have been using solid fuel to heat boats for 25 years but usually with more modern multi fuel stoves.

The question I have is what is the purpose of the small hole and the open dish part below it on this stove :

Usually you would see a closeable air vent - was there originally some sort of plug you put in there once the stove is going?

I think the top hole may be a peep hole but perhaps there was a removeable part which clipped into this hole and hanged down to block the opening below it. If so I can probably make something to do the job.

Any advice would be much appreciated as I should be receiving the stove in the next week or so and obviously as it is not a lined stove I need to be able to control the burn rate.

Thanks

Sunny Boy
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace

Post by Sunny Boy » Thu. May. 10, 2018 10:49 am

Welcome, Someboater.

The purpose of the openings would be easier to discern if we could see pictures of where they are in relation to where the grate is located,.... if there is a grate ?

More pix showing the rest of the stove, including the insides, would help.

Paul

KingCoal
Hand Fed Coal Stove: 1 comforter stove works all iron coal box stove, seventies.
Baseburners & Antiques: 2014 DTS C17 Base Burner, GW #6, GW 113 formerly Sir Williams, maybe others at Pauliewog’s I’ve forgotten about
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anth.
Other Heating: none

Post by KingCoal » Thu. May. 10, 2018 6:42 pm

interesting stove and question, esp. considering there is a primary draft spinner in the ash pit door.

yep, more pictures please.

steve

someboater