Fuller & Warren

jthorell
Baseburners & Antiques: Fuller & Warren "Splendid"
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite
Other Heating: Forced air propane

Post by jthorell » Sat. Oct. 28, 2017 8:57 pm

It is my first post here but reading several of these columns assures me that there is an abundance of knowledge to alleviate my ignorance.
I recently paid to have my grandfathers Fuller & Warren "Splendid" restored. I am having trouble locating a boot or adapter for it. The outlet is oval shaped and 4 1/4 wide X 7 1/4 long. I am plumbed for 8' pipe but could go to 6". Any input is appreciated. Once I get that solved I plan on firing it up. There are no instructions so I guess trial and error will be enforce. I will have a damper on the pipe but there is also a draft control and a lever for the base burn feature. I have heated with wood for 25 years but at 58 I am getting tired of cutting wood although I farm for a living and have plenty of hardwood here in SW Wisconsin. My wife and I are looking forward to this new chapter in heating.

Thanks for any advice.

fifthg
Verified Business Rep.
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: warm morning # 500
Baseburners & Antiques: Peninsular Western Hot Blast No.44K and Reading Foundry & Supply Co.

Post by fifthg » Sat. Oct. 28, 2017 9:24 pm

I think you can take your 6” stove pipe,and with care and patience,form it to the oval shape and it should fit your outlet.Measure the circumference of the oval to be sure and use a pipe of the same circumference.It will fit.You can also find pre-formed oval adapters at stove shops or hardware stores.

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Sun. Oct. 29, 2017 7:57 am

jthorell wrote:
Sat. Oct. 28, 2017 8:57 pm