Glenwood Oak 116 - Shaker Grate Help?!

specialtg
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Oak #116

Post by specialtg » Mon. Oct. 09, 2017 3:24 pm

Hello fellow coal stove friends!
I am new to burning coal and am a new owner of a Glenwood Oak 116. The stove was setup to burn wood with the wood plate and all. We are looking to burn coal.
I was lucky to find this forum and was able to get some needed parts from the infamous Wilson!
We recently put the shaker grate together (obtained from a spare 116 that we happened to stumble upon). One of the grates was busted and Wilson hooked us up! However, when we went to install the grates one of the teeth of the older (and a bit warped) grates is hitting the bottom of our burn pot. Is this the wrong grate? Do we have this setup incorrectly? you will see the left side longer grate in the back circled is the part that is hitting our burn pot.
We are so close to have a functioning coal stove!!!!
shaker_grates.JPG
.JPG | 115.6KB | shaker_grates.JPG
Thank you in advanced!

D-frost
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman MK ll
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Yukon Eagle I (multi-fuel oil, wood/coal)
Baseburners & Antiques: Herald 'fireside oak'
Coal Size/Type: nut/stove-Blaschak/Lehigh

Post by D-frost » Mon. Oct. 09, 2017 4:27 pm

Maybe try to swap the left side with the right side. If warped bad, might want to replace that grate,also. Where are you located?
Bottom line: If you are close to Wilson, he can fix it. Good luck, not cold outside, yet.......
Cheers

Sunny Boy
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace

Post by Sunny Boy » Mon. Oct. 09, 2017 5:20 pm

You have the bars in the right place. Warpage is a problem, but not the only part of the problem with that grate bar. I had the same problem with all the bars in one of my 118's.