Glenwood Question

Dave 1234
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1948 International boiler, EFM S-20 stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buck,

Post by Dave 1234 » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 11:54 am

A friend of mine has a Glenwood 114 that appears to be in good condition. I have no experience with coal stoves,but this one is very pretty to look at.(like that matters :) )
Any info would be helpful.

Thanks, Dave.

wsherrick
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Base Heater, Crawford Base Heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford Base Heater, Glenwood, Stanley Argand
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut, Stove Size

Post by wsherrick » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 2:54 pm

What is it? Is it a Glenwood Modern Oak? If it is a Modern Oak then it is the smallest in the Glenwood Oak line, the largest is the 118. The number refers to the fire pot size. In this case the fire pot is 14 inches in diameter.
Perhaps we could be more helpful if you had specific questions about it. Condition means everything. Glenwood Modern Oaks are fairly common as they sold a kazillion of them between the years 1905 and 1920. These are one of the icons of the stove era.

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 3:36 pm

There were several options on the stove which are nice to have. The most important are a brick lined fire pot and the back pipe to increase heat exchange surface.

Good condition would include tight fitting ash door and air inlets as well as grates in good shape and able to turn freely.

dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404

Post by dcrane » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 4:35 pm

New Condition = $1,500 "Pretty looking good condition"= $700

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar