Clayton 1600 vs Hot Blast

 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:22 am

Hey guys this year will be my first time using a wood/coal furnace. I just bought a house that is 1600sqft with a oil furnace as well as a Clayton 1600 series multi fuel stove. The problem oil is waayy to expensive for me right now hense why I want to use the Clayton. However upon closer inspection the previous owner removed all the electrical components except the 2 blower motors. Appears he ran it very hot aswell because the firebox is warped and fire bricks are cracked and crumbling. I guess he would start a fire and plug the blower motors into an outlet so they ran constantly. My uncle has a Hot Blast in his shed outside but has been sitting there for 10-15 years. I don't know the condition yet as I haven't laid eyes upon it. He says he always burnt coal in it and said it worked great. My stack is not very high, I would guess 15-20ft as the chimney goes thru a wall and runs up the side of the house. So my question is should I buy parts for the Clayton or use as is or should I take the Clayton out and install the Hot blast depending on condition it's in? I want to burn bituminous coal as I can't afford anthracite right now. Buying a house wiped me out. I called a local coal yard and there selling Stoker sized bituminous coal for 138.00 a ton.


 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 7:26 am

The Clayton is probably older and just well used. My newmac is around 20 years old and similar in looks. It works fine. Take the bricks out and replace them. Maybe build a couple smoky fires first to see if there are any leaks. The house I grew up in we used a wood furnace with no thermostat. Just like yours. Start a fire, wait for it to warm up and plug in the circulation fan. Not the most convenient or efficient, but it worked.

 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 11:16 am

It would be nice to have the fans work off a thermostat. Would save alot of time running up and down basement steps.

 
User avatar
warminmn
Member
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue. Feb. 08, 2011 5:59 pm
Location: Land of 11,842 lakes
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 11:24 am

I'd try what you have first and use Way's suggestions.

Im sure someone here would know how to wire your blower.

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 12:05 pm

Dustycloud wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 11:16 am
It would be nice to have the fans work off a thermostat. Would save alot of time running up and down basement steps[/b].


:lol: I take it you have never used a solid fuel appliance before?

 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 12:51 pm

Yea I have but it was a stove not a furnace. I tore my acl in my right knee a few years ago and steps really aggrevates it. If I could just find a way to wire it so so the thermostat would kick the blowers on and off I'd be a happy camper

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:00 pm

Dustycloud wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 12:51 pm
Yea I have but it was a stove not a furnace. I tore my acl in my right knee a few years ago and steps really aggrevates it. If I could just find a way to wire it so so the thermostat would kick the blowers on and off I'd be a happy camper
I'm laughing cause if you burn bit or wood, you will be up and down the stairs more than you want.


 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:51 pm

waytomany?s wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:00 pm
I'm laughing cause if you burn bit or wood, you will be up and down the stairs more than you want.


I'm sure but if I can not run up and down so often that would be a plus. Yes I will be burning bit coal.

 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:51 pm

I wonder if I can just use the electronics off the Hot Blast and put it on my Clayton?

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:53 pm

Dustycloud wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:51 pm
I wonder if I can just use the electronics off the Hot Blast and put it on my Clayton?
Probably. Worth looking at.

 
User avatar
warminmn
Member
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue. Feb. 08, 2011 5:59 pm
Location: Land of 11,842 lakes
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 2:01 pm

Pictures of your electric stuff would sure help others tell you how to wire it... there are some real smart folks on here in that department. And if theres a schematic thats great and include a pic of that.

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 2:02 pm

Dustycloud wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 1:51 pm
I'm sure but if I can not run up and down so often that would be a plus. Yes I will be burning bit coal.
Bit is only slightly better than wood. There's a bit of futzing around getting it going. I don't know how long a load lasts.

 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 2:04 pm

warminmn wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 2:01 pm
Pictures of your electric stuff would sure help others tell you how to wire it... there are some real smart folks on here in that department. And if theres a schematic thats great and include a pic of that.
I'll try to get pics, I'll have to run over to my unless house sometime this week.

 
Dustycloud
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:12 am

Post by Dustycloud » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:11 pm

Idk if he will let me take just the electronics off though. However, I'm looking fir a heater for my garage too so maybe a good opportunity to put the best one in the house and the other in the garage.

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:32 pm

Dustycloud wrote:
Sat. Sep. 09, 2023 3:11 pm
Idk if he will let me take just the electronics off though. However, I'm looking fir a heater for my garage too so maybe a good opportunity to put the best one in the house and the other in the garage.
There you go. Move the one in basement to the garage and put the one with thermostat etc in basement.


Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Boilers & Hot Air Furnaces/Stoves Using Bituminous”