What size to burn and grates jam up

Luskateer
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glacier Bay
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Glacier Bay
Coal Size/Type: Bit
Other Heating: Split system

Post by Luskateer » Mon. Jan. 27, 2020 10:01 pm

So I’m new to the coal burning business. I have a Glacier Bay fireplace insert which I’m using free standing in the basement. I’ve been burning tractor supply antracite nut coal and some very large local bit pieces .. I need to order some local fuel. Couple of tons. My grates seem to jam up with the ts coal. I thought I was over shaking but this last time I tried to control it better to no avail. Would I be better off going’s with larger coal like egg or lump or going smaller with pea size. I think the stove is a Model MCC and is same as a Gibraltar. I’m getting a lot rocks and klinkers.
Thanks for any help...great forum. I’ve been lurking and learning. :D

fig
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Harman SF360
Hand Fed Coal Stove: T.O.M (Warm Morning converted to baseburner by Steve) Round Oak 1917 Door model O-3, Warm Morning 400, Warm Morning 524, Warm Morning 414,Florence No.77, Warm Morning 523-b
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 7.1/DS Machine basement stove/ Harman SF1500
Baseburners & Antiques: Renown Parlor stove 87B
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous/anthracite
Other Heating: Harman Accentra, enviro omega, Vermont Ironworks Elm stove, Quadrafire Mt Vernon, Logwood stove, Sotz barrel stove,

Post by fig » Tue. Feb. 04, 2020 11:24 am

Welcome. You may want to post this in the anthracite section. There isn’t much action here in bituminous.

I tried TSC coal and it was full of fines. It also clinkered up really bad. I switched to Blashack. It has very little fines but clinkers just as bad. Those are the only two choices in my area besides bituminous.

Anyway try the other section. There’s much more action there.

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A