Alaska kodiak first year

kirtsy420
Hand Fed Coal Stove: alaska kodiak
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: clayton 1600
Coal Size/Type: rock coal. bituminous/ chest nut anthracite

Post by kirtsy420 » Tue. Dec. 24, 2019 8:54 am

I bought a kodiak from a family member slightly used. This is my first year burning straight coal. I've been able to hold a fire for 12 hrs and able to throw more on ti keep it going. My question is what's the general temp to run these stoves, how do you burn bit coal correctly, and where can I buy reliable parts for this stove when need parts? I've been having the stove idle at 500 600 degrees. How often should I clean my chimney. I plan on burning anthersite coal once the holidays is over. Bit coal is free so I'm burning that. Any help would be appreciated!

kirtsy420

Post by kirtsy420 » Tue. Dec. 24, 2019 2:49 pm

Also who runs a chimney cap? Will it soot up to where the chimney wont breath?

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Tue. Dec. 24, 2019 5:57 pm

If you checked your chimney before firing up, check it in a week. if its still real clear check it again 2 weeks later. Some bit coal soots up quick, some doesnt. Caps can be troublesome sometimes. Some use them, some dont. Anthracite does not create soot, just some ash. Usually only horizontal pipes need cleaning during the season with anthracite.

Parts should be available if needed from the makers of the stove. However its a simple design and shouldnt need many parts.

I usually let it burn up pretty good, then fill it quick so less smoke gets in the house. (that isnt a problem with anthracite). Depending on the coal, it will need a certain amount of over fire air to help burn volatiles and not cause puffing. Does your stove have a control for over fire air? If not you may want to keep the front load door barely cracked for a while.