Southern IL vs eastern KY bit coal

Mr.Ark
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Royall 6250

Post by Mr.Ark » Fri. Mar. 08, 2019 7:24 pm

Hello,
I am pretty new to burning hard coal in my hand fired boiler but I like it over wood.
I just picked up some southern IL bit to try and was amazed at how BAD it smelled. I’m pretty sure I could burn a load of tires and it wouldn’t smell as bad. Is this common with all bit coal?
I have another source of Eastern KY bit that cost a little more but if it smells just as bad I won’t like it either even though it’s supposed to be higher quality. I was really hoping to find a bit coal that worked just as good as hard coal but without the burning problems in a hand fired wood/coal boiler.
Has anybody burned both?
Thanks in advance.

TheScrambler92

Post by TheScrambler92 » Sat. Mar. 09, 2019 3:39 pm

No personal experience with either one, but from my research, all that IL coal has some seriously high sulfur levels, hence the terrible smell. On the other hand, Eastern KY coal is supposed to be great, especially for home heating, and I'd bet dollars to donuts that the smell would be a whole lot more tolerable.

Mr.Ark

Post by Mr.Ark » Sat. Mar. 09, 2019 5:02 pm

TheScrambler92 wrote:
Sat. Mar. 09, 2019 3:39 pm
No personal experience with either one, but from my research, all that IL coal has some seriously high sulfur levels, hence the terrible smell. On the other hand, Eastern KY coal is supposed to be great, especially for home heating, and I'd bet dollars to donuts that the smell would be a whole lot more tolerable.
The guy that sold me the IL coal said that it’s pretty low sulfur. It doesn’t smell like rotten eggs at all. It smells like your burning tires. Really bad!

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar