Trouble maintaining a fire

Caravan
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vogelzang Sentry Coal Stove VG810CL

Post by Caravan » Wed. Nov. 15, 2017 9:15 pm

I'm new to burning coal, and I'm having trouble keeping a bituminous coal fire going long-term. I've read various tips on here and other places, but I still have some questions, since a lot of what I find seems to be geared more toward anthracite, and I'm very confused since even the various pieces of bituminous burning guides I've found seem to be different.

My stove is one of the side-loading cabinet-style stoves, a Vogelzang Sentry:
IMG_20171110_110005967.jpg
.JPG | 391.7KB | IMG_20171110_110005967.jpg
And here is the firebox and grates:
IMG_20171110_095145470.jpg
.JPG | 318.8KB | IMG_20171110_095145470.jpg
Last night was the first night I was able to make a fire last all night. I added more coal before I left for work around 8AM, and I thought all was well, but unfortunately it went out around noon while my son was looking after it.

I suspect it was just a matter of not adding enough coal before I left (and him not adding any while I was gone) since there really wasn't any totally unburnt coal in it when I got home, it was mostly all in various states of being half-burnt and such. (maybe a lot of clinkers?) I'm guessing since there was a lack of fresh coal, the remaining fire didn't burn as hot and eventually died out.