Advice for First Time Burning

cHAM85

Post by cHAM85 » Thu. Oct. 15, 2015 9:30 pm

The wife and I bought a house this spring that came with a HotBlast furnace in the basement, which is ducted in throughout the house. I have easy free access to wood, and currently have roughly 8.5-9 cords seasoned and under shed roof. I have many years of experience with burning wood and have experimented a little with this furnace as it is my first time heating with one, and have found that even in the few mild temp nights(mid to low 40s) that we have fired it off that it really eats through the wood in comparison to the Warm Morning wood stove that I was used to ! My main concern as of now is trying to conserve my wood supply as my work schedule keeps me away from home often and with remodeling the new home I have limited time to cut and split new wood and where I am located in wv, winters are brutal. Upon a family friend's recommendation , I bought 10 bags of Blaschak nut size to try and mix in to cut back on wood, I didnt want to commit to a ton at moment which runs $255 at dealer I bought from. I attempted to have one fire with it on a night recently that dipped down to 39 and didnt have the greatest experience with it which after reading on here and talking to some friends I attribute to my inexperience with coal. However I am located roughly 10 miles from access to bit coal and went in half with a buddy on a ton of stove size. He claims he mixes it in with his wood in his clayton furnace and it really stretches out his burn times and conserves his wood in the colder months. Last night it dipped down cool enough to fire off to take the chill out and I mixed in 4 shovels full in between two beech splits. I couldnt believe how fast this stuff took off in comparison to the anthracite ! Need less to say I was impressed and will be getting ahold of another load, im looking for any tips and advice as far as how often I should shake down and poke the coal in the event I do a solid co