Can't Get Good Burn Time With Sub-Bit Coal

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 11:03 am

Will I'll try the insulation on duct work and see if some stoker coal make different in the heat.


User avatar
rockwood
Member
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun. Sep. 21, 2008 7:37 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic coal furnace
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range
Coal Size/Type: Soft coal: Lump and stoker (slack coal)
Location: Utah

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 11:15 am

How are you controlling the chimney draft...stove pipe damper or baro damper? If you have excessive draft you might be losing lots of heat up the chimney. You might want to get a manometer/draft gauge to see what's going on with the draft.

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 1:00 pm

Baro damper and manual damper but I don't use the manual all the draft meters are 100 or more but I'll keep checking

bverwolf
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon. Dec. 28, 2009 12:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Vogelzang
Stove/Furnace Model: Norseman 2500
Location: South Eastern Montana

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 3:49 pm

Here's a manometer that would work.

**Broken Link(s) Removed**

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 4:16 pm

Will I just went to check fire if I open ash door I get more heart so I must not be getting the air in below fire any help I guess I can cut a extra hole in ash door. Please help

User avatar
Dennis
Member
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 5:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size
Location: Pottstown,Pa

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 5:29 pm

dmay,
I believe someone with your furnace has done it. Might help,since you need to open the door for more air draft.
When shaking down are you getting as much ash as you can,to see a glow underneath.

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Fri. Jan. 13, 2012 7:10 pm

Dennis I'm getting a pan full every 12 hrs I'm getting red glow on the ash pan I think I'm shaking enough. I was surprised when I opened the ash doorand got more heat because I had been tring to get heat by spinning the ash door draft and there was no temp differents on furnace thanks for the help Dennis

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 10:55 am

I give up one day works far next poor I can't get the samething everyday the fire don't burn same everyday


User avatar
Dennis
Member
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 5:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size
Location: Pottstown,Pa

Post Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 11:56 am

dmay,
can you take some pics. so we can see what you are working with. Somewhere along the way we are missing something.
Take pics. of chimney and pipe hook-up,baro/MPD
pic. of chimney exterior and roof
pic. of furnace with draft controls/spinners
and what ever else you think might be a problem

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:46 pm

I tried
Dennis wrote:dmay,
can you take some pics. so we can see what you are working with. Somewhere along the way we are missing something.
Take pics. of chimney and pipe hook-up,baro/MPD
pic. of chimney exterior and roof
pic. of furnace with draft controls/spinners
and what ever else you think might be a problem
I tried but I don't know if it worked all in have in my phone pm me your email I send you the pic

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:58 pm

I added insulation. On duct work. I hope I can get it to work hope the pic where OK

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Tue. Jan. 24, 2012 9:55 pm

well I think I find the problem. I didn't have a good draft I put a piece paper in good hot fire an it fell down instead of flying up and now it will pull the paper up chimney. Thanks for the help every body and Dennis thanks for the extra. Help

User avatar
Willis
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue. Aug. 26, 2008 7:36 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Combustioneer 24 FA w/ Will-Burt s-30
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Combustioneer 77, Stokermatic
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 520,521
Coal Size/Type: Washed stoker- Bituminous
Location: Cadiz, OH

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 1:46 pm

what was the cause of your poor draft?

dmay
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat. Dec. 31, 2011 11:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: us stove
Stove/Furnace Model: hot blast 1500
Location: pikeville,ky

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 6:20 pm

I had 6 inch stove pipe all the way from stove to the top of chimney. Changed the pipe above the roof to 8 inch now it act the way it is suppost to we will see it supposition to turn off cold the next couple days

User avatar
Berlin
Site Moderator
Posts: 1847
Joined: Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 1:25 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Will-Burt Combustioneer 77B
Coal Size/Type: Ohio BITUMINOUS pea stoker coal
Location: Buffalo/Adirondacks, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 6:26 pm

try 8" from the stove and you'll have even better luck.


Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Boilers & Hot Air Furnaces/Stoves Using Bituminous”