Need Help Fast!

ChuckV309

Post by ChuckV309 » Thu. Jan. 28, 2010 1:43 pm

I am completely new to coal/wood burning.

I am having trouble with my Johnson furnace. It is very similar to the Norsman 2500. The furnace is set up in the garage and the 8" stack goes straight up 16' single wall and then another 12' in double wall (near the ceiling and outside). I have a MFD in place also.

I started buring wood first, but I couldn't get a long enough burn (4hrs max). I know part of the problem was the wood I was using. Wood is gone. Got injured and can't split more at this time. So, I decided to try coal. I was told that I need to burn lump (2-6") coal in the furnace by a local coal supplier. My furnace is designed for both. It has bottom fed air and shaker grates. The coal I got is from the Knighthawk mine in southern IL and it is called called raw coal. It is bit coal and ranges in size from dust to 2 foot square blocks. I got it because it is $55/ton. I am located in central IL and the lump coal around here ranges $245-$280 a ton. Brought back 4 tons. 3/5ths is chunks and the rest is fines.