Modified Stove With Ducting

GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Sat. Jan. 17, 2009 4:59 pm

Thanks Horace and a couple of others that have gone before, I have modified my Channing III to try and get more of the radient heat from the blower up to the first floor. My first design was with one modified register boot, I just got done tracking down a wye and added the second. We'll see how it goes. I hope to purchase the ther top for this stove, that has a collar for this purpose.
<removed dead image link>
and
<removed dead image link>
and
<removed dead image link>

thought I'd share. :D
Last edited by GettingStoked on Sat. Apr. 01, 2017 1:32 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: <removed dead image link>


GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Wed. Jan. 21, 2009 8:20 pm

lol, I would of thought someone would of found this interesting? btw its evened out the temps from the basement to the first floor a lot. it use to be 10 to 15* difference between the basement and 1st floor.. now its about 4 to 6* different :dancing: . This is my last science project for the stove... for this year :funny: Next year we start all over.

baro adjusted : Check
Manometer installed : Check
Redirected heat to 1st floor : Check
Saving over $100 a month on electric heat : Check
Saving over $1200 this season not using propane for heat : Check
TripLite inverter : Next year
Coal-Trol : Next year
New top for stove to get rid of Robbie the robot : Next year
Cold Air returns from 1st floor back rooms : Next year
missalaneous : Next year :D

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Jan. 21, 2009 8:43 pm

GettingStoked wrote:. This is my last science project for the stove... for this year
Looks like it should definitely :up: work!!

One question?......Is your wife bound & gagged in a closet somewhere!? :lol:

User avatar
Qball
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun. Oct. 05, 2008 4:31 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Rhode Island
Contact:

Post Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 12:21 am

I think its beautiful :D
ductwork.jpg

GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 8:16 am

Devil505
Ah, you found the only chink in the plan... :roll2: I can get her to admit its better this way, but she is not real fond of the shiny duct work :nono: This is why I'm getting the other top for it next year... Hopefully I can clean it up a bit. To be honest I hardly even notice it anymore... toothy but IT is the first thing people notice when we have company over...

Qball
Qball I couldn't remember who's design I originally saw that was that was the inspiration.. and it was yours... and then it was Horace's "termporary" setup I followed :) ...thanks for sharing.
Devil505 wrote:
GettingStoked wrote:. This is my last science project for the stove... for this year
Looks like it should definitely :up: work!!

One question?......Is your wife bound & gagged in a closet somewhere!? :lol:

User avatar
ceccil
Member
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sat. Mar. 15, 2008 11:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Mark III
Location: Elmira, NY

Post Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 12:14 pm

Third season using mine set up this way. I was using flex duct but it was a bit short and split. When I moved the stove to hook it up to the chimney after doing away with the direct vent, I used solid ducts. Works very well. As $$ permits I'm going with WNY's idea and cut a hole in the top to install a takoff for the ductwork and close off the front.

Jeff
Attachments
IMAG0132.JPG
finished ductwork and 40 gal. tank heated from coil
Last edited by ceccil on Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ColdinVT
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 2:45 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Breckwell
Stove/Furnace Model: Big E
Location: Waterbury Center , VT

Post Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 12:35 pm

I had talked to the wife about building a hood and ducting the heat upstairs when I install the coal stove. I showed her your set up and now she's reaching for her pistol..... :shock: LOL

GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 8:30 pm

your stove looks sad :( but glad :yes: its been working for you.
ceccil wrote:Third season using mine set up this way. I was using flex duct but I was a bit short and split. When I moved the stove to hook it up to the chimney after doing away with the direct vent, I used solid ducts. Works very well. As $$ permits I'm going with WNY's idea and cut a hole in the top to install a takoff for the ductwork and close off the front.

Jeff


GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Thu. Jan. 22, 2009 8:35 pm

I bet if you had sheet metal skills you could probably do something pretty sweet... I was happy not to cut into a major artery :clap: Does anyone know where to get the black pipe... when I was at HD and another place (where I got the wye) I didn't see any? Is it a special item and can you get anything that is in silver also in black.. like the flex pipe?
ColdinVT wrote:I had talked to the wife about building a hood and ducting the heat upstairs when I install the coal stove. I showed her your set up and now she's reaching for her pistol..... :shock: LOL

Paulie
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue. Apr. 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: MA, South Shore

Post Fri. Jan. 23, 2009 5:20 am

Pipe is not special, Depo does not carry it. I have found it at Lowes and my local hardware store. I have wondered why
people do not run black pipe to move the heat, I can not see moisture/corrosion being an issue. It would still look funky, but
not nearly as "industrial".

User avatar
ceccil
Member
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sat. Mar. 15, 2008 11:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Mark III
Location: Elmira, NY

Post Fri. Jan. 23, 2009 12:33 pm

GettingStoked wrote:your stove looks sad but glad its been working for you.
Why do you say it looks sad? :cry: It was a little dirty at the time of pic, just got done with coil and ductwork and hadn't cleaned up yet.

Jeff

GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Fri. Jan. 23, 2009 2:44 pm

I was just joking with ya. :doh: Not to get off topic.. but I see your from Elmira... I have a bunch of relatives up there... Nice area.
ceccil wrote:
GettingStoked wrote:your stove looks sad but glad its been working for you.
Why do you say it looks sad? :cry: It was a little dirty at the time of pic, just got done with coil and ductwork and hadn't cleaned up yet.

Jeff

User avatar
ceccil
Member
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sat. Mar. 15, 2008 11:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Mark III
Location: Elmira, NY

Post Fri. Jan. 23, 2009 4:56 pm

I guess you could say it does look a little sad because you can't see the show through the steel plate. Glass cracked and replaced it with a plate. Stove isn't in our living area anyway so it doesn'tmake much difference. If I ever move it to a living area I will replace the glass. Glass was about $45 and steel plate cost me $5. No brainer there.

Jeff

rberq
Member
Posts: 5048
Joined: Mon. Apr. 16, 2007 9:34 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 1300 with hopper
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Oil hot water radiators (fuel oil); propane
Location: Central Maine

Post Fri. Jan. 23, 2009 7:46 pm

A painter / wall-paperer / carpenter / jack-of-all-building-trades told me years ago: paint it flat black and it will pretty much "disappear".

csstoker
Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed. Aug. 27, 2008 2:18 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: North Central MD

Post Fri. Jan. 23, 2009 9:26 pm

I have not as of yet dealt with my temp between floor differences. When upstairs is 75 degrees, the room with the stove feels like it is at about 1000 degrees

I was thinking of placing an all black large kitchen cooktop type hood over the stove with straight black pipe off of the top going into the ceiling- floor above- and adding a fan in the pipe top where it connects to the ceiling above to draw it up to the floor above. I would leave the distribution blower on low so that it would tend to rise naturally into the hood and I wasn't blowing too much air out into the room. If the variable speed kitchen hood fan had a draw greater than the speed of the distribution blower, do you think it would draw the heat up similar to boiling pots on a cooktop? Also how far above the stove could I have the hood and still be effective?


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”