Not Enough Heat From Furnace Using Coal-Trol

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Fri. Jan. 16, 2009 11:16 am

My coal trol is the latest firmware and is used on a leisure line pioneer bv.

For some reason the tempature keeps going down. The Thermo is set to hold at 78 degrees F. The tempature has been steadily dropping all morning and now it is at 73. The furnace is running on abolute low! For the last hour the Firing rate on the coal trol has read anywhere from 88 to 99 but the fire is not getting going and there is about 4 inches of ash on the ramp. It has done this before and I can't figure out what to do about it. Any ideas?

User avatar
gambler
Member
Posts: 1594
Joined: Mon. Jan. 29, 2007 12:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: western Pa

Post Fri. Jan. 16, 2009 11:31 am

Is there something blocking the flow of coal from the hopper?
And is the stoker motor actually running as much as it says it is?
Take Care and God Bless
Rick

frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Fri. Jan. 16, 2009 12:00 pm

Now it is firing up. the temp is now rising again. The stoker motor was not running even when the room temp was below the thermo set temp. I do not know why it does this once in a while. The stoker is now feeding faster. the ash on the ramp is down to 3 inches. The coal is not being blocked in the hopper as far as I can see.


User avatar
gambler
Member
Posts: 1594
Joined: Mon. Jan. 29, 2007 12:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: western Pa

Post Fri. Jan. 16, 2009 12:17 pm

frankdetroit wrote:Now it is firing up. the temp is now rising again. The stoker motor was not running even when the room temp was below the thermo set temp. I do not know why it does this once in a while. The stoker is now feeding faster. the ash on the ramp is down to 3 inches. The coal is not being blocked in the hopper as far as I can see.
It sounds to me like the t-stat is working and calling for heat but there might be a loose wire connection on the motor. If the motor has wire nuts on it I would unplug the stove and re-do the wire nut connections just to make sure they have a good connection.
Take Care and God Bless
Rick

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Jan. 16, 2009 12:28 pm

Also, Make sure when you go thru the Menu (if you play with the settings), you don't accidentally turn the "IGN = Y" (Igniter), that will stop the stoker for a while and think it's in the IGNITOR mode. I think it stops it for like 15-30 mins or something.

or you had something blocking the coal, maybe your coal is wet and it didn't fall down onto the stoker plate.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”