What is Max Convection Fan Amp Draw for Coal-Trol?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
butchs37
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Dec. 19, 2007 5:34 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 dual feed
Location: Kenvil, NJ

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 8:52 am

I have a coal-trol standard and I want to hook up the blower in my furnace to the convection control on the coal-trol. I took an amp reading when the blower first kicks on it draws 4.0 amps for less than a second then drops to 2.5 amps. I see the convection connection on the coal-trol is only 3 amp max. Would that half a second 4 amp draw damage the coal-trol or should it be ok.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 9:46 am

this was discussed, I think Neil or Paul stated 4 amps max?, but hey do have a relay output option to control higher loads like furnance blowers.

Do a search on this forum...

From Paul in another thread.
Booster Fans With Coal-Trol

"The key requirement for operation of multiple blowers from the variable speed convection output are:
1) Multiple motors must be of identical types. This means the nameplate model number and the fan attached must be identical. DO NOT mix motor types or sizes.
2) The total continuous current drawn from the Convection output must be less than 4.5A. (We rate the output conservatively at 2A, assuming that the other outputs are at their rated output.)
3) The total of all loads on the Coal-trol Digital must be less than 10A, otherwise the fuse blows.

Operation outside these boundaries may cause damage to the control module.

DISCLAIMER: We try to assist in providing special solutions to adapt to your particular situation. However, we cannot be responsible for damage to equipment caused by unreasonable application not within the ratings and/or published specifications."
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


User avatar
butchs37
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed. Dec. 19, 2007 5:34 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 dual feed
Location: Kenvil, NJ

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 9:51 am

Ok thanks

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Jan. 13, 2009 5:10 pm

Remove the blower on the coal stove to free up air passage through it. Make sure there are no other electrical connections the furnace blower motor. We do not support having multiple line voltage sources going to a single motor.

2.5 Amps continuous, 4ish amps startup should be fine. Make sure to bump up the CFM (minimum convection fan speed) setting in the Advanced menu to make sure the blower turns properly at low speed. You should start at 40-50 and then lower the setting bit by bit, checking to make sure the motor on the blower doesn't get too hot. The larger blowers tend to need more speed for the idle setting since they cool the drive motor with inlet air.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”