Chimney Question

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
bradfr
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed. Aug. 27, 2008 9:27 am
Stove/Furnace Make: none yet
Stove/Furnace Model: none yet

Post Thu. Sep. 04, 2008 8:18 am

I am getting ready to install my keystoker 90 in the basement and have a couple questions about the chimney. I did not want to power vent because of the risk of the device failing and the constant need for power so I have chose to go with a regular chimney. I wanted to place my coal stove as close to my furnace as possible which is inconveniently in the center of the basement. If I install the stove there I will have a long horizontal run before I make to an outside wall for the chimney. What is a safe distance to travel horizontally when not power venting and can I have any 90's or 45's in that run? Also, what kind of venting should I use to go up the side of the house? I have read in some spots galvanized B-Vent can be used but I just wanted to make sure this was an acceptable process.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Sat. Sep. 06, 2008 7:36 pm

Why not power vent the existing furnace and put the coal on the chimney? The PV won't use any power unless it's running and it won't run when there is no power like the gas/oil burner anyway. :) A long horizontal run will be tough on a solid fuel appliance, not so with your gas/oil burners.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.


User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Sat. Sep. 06, 2008 7:46 pm

coaledsweat wrote:Why not power vent the existing furnace and put the coal on the chimney? The PV won't use any power unless it's running and it won't run when there is no power like the gas/oil burner anyway. :) A long horizontal run will be tough on a solid fuel appliance, not so with your gas/oil burners.
Sounds like an "Elegant" solution to me! (& cheaper if you have to build a new chimney)
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”