Homemade Auger Feed Coal Bin

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Wed. Aug. 20, 2008 4:44 pm

I am very surprised I posted my coal bin delivery, posted all kinds of pictures and no one picked up on the fact that there is no place to get the coal out other than reaching thru the top and shoveling it into a bucket.
here is the link on the delivery:
6 Ton Rice Coal Delivery Thru Garage Door to Bin

At first I thought maybe poke a 8"hole in the foundation wall and install a angled 8" stove pipe and get the coal out by gravity , but then I started trying to design a door that I could control it and I thought if I could use a auger I could just turn the auger off and stop the flow and also I thought I would get a better flow.

So I made a auger system with stuff I had around I'll post pictures below.
Attachments
IMG_1265_1.JPG
This is a 8"dirt auger whos clutch was slipping and a pain to use to drill post holes
IMG_1266_2.JPG
placed the auger into a 8" stovepipe T... the motor I bought on ebay it was from a jazzy or electric wheel chair does 4RPM @ 12v dc
IMG_1281_1.JPG
poked hole in foundation and cut floor.. point of auger was 3/4" and 3/4"brass pipe fit over it perfect .. then cemented the 3/4" pipe
IMG_1353_1.JPG
here is a shot in the basement... the boiler hopper will be right under it when I get it installed
IMG_1354_2.JPG
here isb a close up you can see the auger shaft and some coal sittin there
Last edited by syncmaster on Wed. Aug. 20, 2008 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.


syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Wed. Aug. 20, 2008 4:52 pm

holding a bucket under it and running it for 30 seconds and weigh the bucket minus the bucket weight it delivers .7 lbs per second. so if you are going to fill a 280lb hopper (I have a VF3000) with about 200lbs of coal will take 4 to 5 min.

I think the will work...right now I will be happy to get the VF3000 installed... trying to get all the stuff together.

below is a closup shot holding the camera inside the stovepipe T

After I get the boiler installed and start loading with the auger I am thinking maybe I can supply 15v to the 12v motor and increase the speed a little.

hope this helps you guys!!!
Attachments
IMG_1355_3.JPG

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4679
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Wed. Aug. 20, 2008 9:05 pm

That's prettty cool. But be prepared to run it longer, the VF3K holds 250#.
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12716
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Thu. Aug. 21, 2008 8:02 am

Not such a bad idea but that pipe isn't going to last that long between the friction of the auger and the corrosion caused by the coal. I'll give it 4 or 5 years tops. ;) As a comparison some of the thicker steel pipes used on boilers like my Van-Wert I've seen rot out on the end where it's in the coal constantly in about 30 years. They are about 3/16 inch thick if not more.

I guess that is ground auger? What happens if it jams?
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Thu. Aug. 21, 2008 1:28 pm

well, in 4 or 5 years we will be drilling off coney island and the new jersey shore.
We will have so much oil that fuel oil will be 25cents a gallon so I will switch my VF3000 to the oil gun.

If the auger jams it has a dc motor so I can reverse it and if that dosen't work I could put a 36" pipe wrench on the auger shaft and coax it a little. It is a 8" auger I doubt something will jam it.

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12716
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Thu. Aug. 21, 2008 1:53 pm

I mean if it jams are you going to start breaking stuff? For example the augers on the boilers have brass or copper shear pins. They are geared so low something is going to break if there was jam in the auger. The shear pin will simply snap before anything else since its the weakest link. Either the worm, transmission or something else is going to break if they weren't there. I'm just asking because I never used the tool you posted. Actually curious because I'd imagine something like that could be dangerous when used for digging post holes if it got caught on a root or rock.

I have experience in this area. :oops: My dad has a old ?1/2 horsepower? Craftsman drill and I was drilling into a stump with it. This has the lock so you can lock the trigger on. The damn thing got stuck and nearly tore my arms off, I went sailing like superman. Round and round she went until the cord pulled out of the wall. :lol:
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Thu. Aug. 21, 2008 2:22 pm

It might have been easier to move to Florida :P Nice work. That is an awesome setup.
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in any coal or plumbing related field. I only post my own experiences, research and common sense. If you choose to use any of the information in this post or any other post you do so at your own risk.

syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Thu. Aug. 21, 2008 2:29 pm

Richard S. wrote:

I have experience in this area. :oops: My dad has a old ?1/2 horsepower? Craftsman drill and I was drilling into a stump with it. This has the lock so you can lock the trigger on. The damn thing got stuck and nearly tore my arms off, I went sailing like superman. Round and round she went until the cord pulled out of the wall. :lol:
I see what you mean.... when the auger was used for post holes it has a clutch that stops applying power when you hit a root.
but over time the clutch safety cuts in all the time making the thing pretty usless.

But you bring up a good point, I could measure the current of the 12v motor and put a fuse inline with it, so if the auger gets stuck the motor current would increase and blow the fuse. this would also keep me from burning out the motor.

Thanks for the idea, Richard !


User avatar
beatle78
Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 1:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker KA-4
Location: Rhode Island

Post Mon. Aug. 25, 2008 11:58 am

that thing is VERY cool!

Now are you going to install the VF3000 directly below that shoot? :D

Next, add a second :D auger to take out the ashes for you!!

syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Tue. Aug. 26, 2008 5:31 pm

Yes, I will connect a 8" x 2ft stove pipe into the 8" T and the other end into the VF3000 hopper.

I was thinking about putting a photo Eye in the hopper so when the hopper gets low the photo eye gets uncovered and it could send a signal to trun on the auger, and it could fill automaticly.
But then I thought I have to remove the ashes every 3 days so I might as well flip the switch to fill the hopper.

Now I am giving alot of thought to the ashes..... there has to be a way....

I'll post more pictures when I get it all set up.

User avatar
Highlander
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue. Dec. 05, 2006 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Harman VF3000 Sold
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Castings Resolute
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000 Stoker Boiler
Location: Highland Lakes NJ
Contact:

Post Tue. Aug. 26, 2008 8:47 pm

Sync

Ultrasonic level sensors are the way to go with dry material in a bin or hopper. A photoeye might have problems with the coal dust on the optics.

I don't mind filling the hopper, its emptying the ash bin that really sucks.

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6606
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Wed. Aug. 27, 2008 5:24 am

I applaud your inventiveness!

Using a 1/2" angle drill contersinking holes into 4 X 4's with a 2" self feed drill... it jammed, twisted against my leg, and as doing so the "stay on" button got pushed so when I released the trigger it didn't stop. It is electrically stalled putting 11 million pounds of pressure between my arms & leg & 4 x 4. The wife was nearby and she heard me yelling "unplug it unplug it unplug it unplug it...."
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Aug. 27, 2008 7:58 am

Thats similar to how my guy delivers mine, he has a 5"? x 14' auger in a stainless pipe and can shoot it right into my bin thru the window. It takes about 45 mins to unload 4-5 tons.

Only thing, with the thin wall pipe, it may rub and wear thru fast, but great idea!
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Sat. Oct. 11, 2008 8:16 pm

**** update on this project ****

I got my Vf3000 installed and went to use my auger loading system.
I was surprised to see how much coal dust I got from it falling 2ft into the hopper.
see picture below.
IMG_1585_2.JPG
this was my first try...but was too dusty
I made a metal cover to go over the hopper and cut a 2" hole so I could hook up a shop vac while I am filling the hopper.
see picture below
IMG_1602_19.JPG
here you can see the 2" hole for the shop vac hose.
So when I am filling the hopper I will connect a shop vac to suck up the coal dust.... it works fine like this.
IMG_1604_21.JPG
shop vac connected to hopper cover.
This set up works good.... If I was going to do it again I would use a 8 or 10 RPM motor instead of a 4RPM that I have now.

this system... 8" earth auger and 4 RPM motor delivers 40lbs /min
Last edited by syncmaster on Sun. Oct. 12, 2008 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
k9 Bara
Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 11:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1996 EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Buck / Reading
Location: Red Creek, Fair Haven area NY

Post Sat. Oct. 11, 2008 8:52 pm

Awesome! :) I also have an auger system in mind, but thats for next year. Looks great, nice job.
Thanks,
George


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”