Can I Check Draft With Manometer During Summer?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
jimbo
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 7:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire Chief 700
Coal Size/Type: Stove or nut
Stove/Furnace Make: fire chief
Stove/Furnace Model: fc700
Location: Ephratah NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Jul. 27, 2008 3:11 pm

Does any one have any manometer numbers for a draft during the summer months?
I know that the draft is poor during summer and will increase during the colder weather. I am new to coal and would like to check the draft before the heat season.
I have used the clay tile lined chimney to burn wood years ago.
My old furnace would take a little bit to get the draft to take off if chimney had gotten cold I would light a few hunks of paper and stuff in the clean out to get draft to start once chimney was warm there were never any issues. Maybe some of you guys that have a manometer hooked up could give us new guys some number for reference.
Jim
INTERESTS :Working on dirt track modifed race car. Hunting, fishing,wood working,metal fab,welding,hobby farming.Repairing plastic injection molding machines. Kind of jack of all trades.

User avatar
Blackdiamonddoug
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed. Jun. 11, 2008 8:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: axemen 260 rebuilt by Matt
Stove/Furnace Model: stoker AA 260
Location: haverhill Ma

Post Tue. Jul. 29, 2008 11:07 pm

Hi
Just zero out your manometer and put it in the stove or pipe.
If it more or less than zero you have draft.
Depending which side is your reference point.
Your manometer should to be able to read o.o1" WC .

BDD

User avatar
e.alleg
Member
Posts: 1285
Joined: Fri. Feb. 16, 2007 10:31 am
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: western ny

Post Tue. Jul. 29, 2008 11:23 pm

I have my manometer hooked up but it is useless in the summer. It's like .02 most of the time as the stoker only runs a few minutes at a time. The baro is almost always closed in the summer, when I'm doing laundry and the boiler is stoking to make water it opens up some but it's really meaningless. You want to use the manometer to set your barometric damper when it's cold out and the stove is cranking and the chimney is hot, trying to set the baro in the summer won't work.
Burning coal is definitely worth the extra work involved.
"Good enough" is not good enough.


User avatar
Highlander
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue. Dec. 05, 2006 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Harman VF3000 Sold
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Castings Resolute
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000 Stoker Boiler
Location: Highland Lakes NJ
Contact:

Post Thu. Jul. 31, 2008 9:32 pm

I burn all summer long to make hot water, my manometer is a Dwyer magnahelic unit, with a needle, and it reads .01" most of the time. I never smell coal gas so I know its drafting well enough.

User avatar
Adamiscold
Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Fri. Feb. 29, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Chubby Sr. Old School
Location: Winchendon,Ma

Post Fri. Aug. 01, 2008 1:24 pm

Highlander,
How high does your chimney go past your roof?
Adam

http://www.homepower.com <-- Great magazine.

User avatar
jimbo
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 7:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire Chief 700
Coal Size/Type: Stove or nut
Stove/Furnace Make: fire chief
Stove/Furnace Model: fc700
Location: Ephratah NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Aug. 01, 2008 9:08 pm

I cant get up above roof peak due to lay out of chimney, chimney is at the eves and extends 4 foot past eves. The prevailing winds are from the west here and the chimney is on the south side of the house. Chimney is located approx in center of south wall and comes up through an unheated enclosed porch. I know it would be better to get it above the peak but I don't think I can due to it having to free stand for 10 or so feet unsupported. I know I can tie it back to the roof but don't realy want to mess up my steel roof.
Any suggestions would be welcomed.
I have thought of buying a draft inducer and installing in the pipe. Thought this may help with out having to put any more height on chimney.
Jimbo
INTERESTS :Working on dirt track modifed race car. Hunting, fishing,wood working,metal fab,welding,hobby farming.Repairing plastic injection molding machines. Kind of jack of all trades.


User avatar
Highlander
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue. Dec. 05, 2006 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Harman VF3000 Sold
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Castings Resolute
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: VF3000 Stoker Boiler
Location: Highland Lakes NJ
Contact:

Post Fri. Aug. 01, 2008 11:01 pm

Highlander,
How high does your chimney go past your roof?
Adam, does this answer the question?
Attachments
P5201269.JPG

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6604
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Sat. Aug. 02, 2008 4:07 am

The top of the chimney does not have to go above the roof. The old rule of thumb is to have a minumum of ten feet from chimney top horizontally to the roof. Of course more is better.
Attachments
Chimney clearance.jpg
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

crazy4coal
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed. Feb. 13, 2008 8:29 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: buderus
Stove/Furnace Model: logana
Location: Sussex County N.J.

Post Sat. Aug. 02, 2008 6:23 am

I'm building a chimney now and the code here is 24" or more above that 10', same as it was 11 years ago when I built the first one. remember higher is better!
Owner of American Coal LLC. Sussex County N.J. (Bagged only)

User avatar
Adamiscold
Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Fri. Feb. 29, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Chubby Sr. Old School
Location: Winchendon,Ma

Post Sat. Aug. 02, 2008 4:39 pm

Thanks Highlander. I see you have four sections of ss pipe and your house looks a little taller then ours, so that should be easy enough to figure out.

Freddy I'm looking at having ours setup pretty much like Highlanders with the chimney right near the peak of our roof. I'm just trying to see how far up I would need to go with it for a good draft that wont give me any issues later on down the road.
Adam

http://www.homepower.com <-- Great magazine.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”