Help With Connecting My Stove to Chimney

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
hugg
Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat. Jun. 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman / Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum / CFS
Location: newton twp. PA

Post Wed. Jul. 23, 2008 9:37 pm

Hi all, I am looking for some advice on how best to connect my stove to my chimney. I just bought a house that was built in 1984 and the chimney is in good condition except the thimble. The terricotta is broken where you would connect the stove pipe to the flue. I bought a new Harman magnum to live in the basement and hopefullly it will heat my whole house. I will post some pics. Thank You, Hugg

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Jul. 23, 2008 9:51 pm

Two suggestions:

Correct way:

Get a mason to replace the thimble

My Way:

Chip away some masonry in the old thimble, run a stove pipe through the hole & seal it with stove cement. (watch for rusting & replace when needed)
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

User avatar
hugg
Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat. Jun. 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman / Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum / CFS
Location: newton twp. PA

Post Wed. Jul. 23, 2008 9:56 pm

I like the price of your way. I was thinking of doing just that, but not sure. Thanks


User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9822
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Thu. Jul. 24, 2008 8:15 am

Is it just chipped at the end? If the hollow clay tile is solid and passes from the wall to the chimney's interior without cracks or missing pieces, it should be fine. Chipped up at the stovepipes entry is not a problem. Make sure the stovepipe goes deep but does not enter the chimney itself.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.

User avatar
hugg
Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat. Jun. 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman / Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum / CFS
Location: newton twp. PA

Post Thu. Jul. 24, 2008 7:21 pm

had pics posted. They dissappeared!!!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”