Southerner Needs a Primer

HandLogger
Other Heating: Cord Wood Furnace and a Navien Propane Boiler

Post by HandLogger » Tue. Jan. 14, 2020 2:13 pm

Hello to the Coal Pail Community ~ I'm a southern builder who bought a home in the Berkshires just over a year ago. Being in the mountains of the northeast, the home is presently being heated via a wood stove and a propane furnace. I'm sure it will come as no surprise to anyone here, but the cost of propane and the entire process of burning cord wood -- from the acquisition of wood to the time spent tending the fire itself -- are major issues. A friend of ours, in Ithaca, NY, has been telling me to look into burning coal for quite a while...and, this year, to make a long story short, our wood supplier has made things tough on us...so I'm now seriously considering a change to a coal stove.

The builder in me has been looking at the way the present wood stove was installed -- in the basement -- and I'm immediately wondering about the best way to drill the hole for the chimney thimble through the 10" thick concrete basement wall? Although we intend on continuing to use the walk-in basement for our heating equipment, we don't like the present location of the wood stove; hence, my question about drilling through the basement wall.

As for the stove itself, we've got our eye on an Alaskan brand stove, which uses a 6-inch exhaust pipe. Although I'm a rookie when it comes to stove heating, I do understand that a proper chimney thimble will have a larger diameter (OD) than the exhaust pipe itself, so my next question is just how big the hole will have to be for the new coal stove thimble? The OD of the thimble being used with our wood stove is just over 11-inches, so I'm anticipating the need for a very large hole...but I digress and defer to the community.

If anyone might be able to give us a primer on what's involved with installing a proper chimney thimble, we would be very grateful for the advice. Have a great day ~ Hand