Using Existing Chimney

boerboels

Post by boerboels » Tue. Jul. 15, 2008 11:19 am

I have a L.L. hearth stove coming in November and am trying to get my fireplace piping ready. I recently removed a woodburning insert and noticed they had a piece of sheetmetal below the damper with an oval shaped hole. I'm going to replace this and my question is should I cut the hole on an angle or cut a circular 6" hole and use a 45 elbow to angle it past my fire shelf? I believe I only have to go about 16" past the shelf but of coarse I want it air tight! Also, it still has the damper frame made of steel intact above the piece of sheet metal. Should I remove it completely as it does affect my clearance for piping and it appears to be held by mortar? I know I will be using stainless steel piping and was wondering any preferred brands out there? This is my first time installing any type of a stove but my fireplace is in great shape, recently cleaned and the 8" clay flue is in great shape.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Tue. Jul. 15, 2008 11:31 am

Leave the steel shelf in place, you don't want to mess with anything mortared into the brick. The oval is because a 6" pipe round will usually not fit through the steel opening.. the sheet of steel with the oval is what is most commonly used.. and it must be sealed, you don't want any coal fumes or CO backing down and getting into your room/house.

Hope this helps..

Greg L

boerboels

Post by boerboels » Tue. Jul. 15, 2008 1:55 pm

Thanks Greg, I thought the oval hole was due to the fact the pipe needed to be shaped that way to fit through the damper frame. My question would be how can I add pipe to the end that goes through the sheetmetal opening to extend it up far enough into the chimney?

coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea