Extra Wires to Bury With the Pex Tubing?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
biggreen1
Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed. May. 14, 2008 7:39 pm

Post Wed. Jul. 02, 2008 8:59 pm

I read through the old posts about adding extra wires in the pipe that will have the pex tubing for my garage installed boiler. Any recommendations on what all to put in there? LsFarm, What did you decide on with respect to a remote pyrometer? Thanks all.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Wed. Jul. 02, 2008 9:42 pm

I found a wireless BBQ thermometer for $59 that does the job... but I would bury a telephone cable, that has at least three pairs [six wires]. This can come in handy.. if you think you might want to use 115v. then add a 12-2 or 14-2 romex too..

Greg L.
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

biggreen1
Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed. May. 14, 2008 7:39 pm

Post Wed. Jul. 02, 2008 10:52 pm

Excellent, I see home depot has them but they are 79$. Thank you yet again


Bob
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun. Mar. 18, 2007 11:28 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Anthracite
Location: Schuylkill County

Post Thu. Jul. 03, 2008 8:35 am

If you are installing in conduit an alternative is to put a stong string in so that you can pull new wire in the future if necessary.

User avatar
Yanche
Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Pea
Location: Sykesville, Maryland

Post Thu. Jul. 03, 2008 10:28 am

If you put your circulator pump on the boiler in the garage you will need control wires. Do as Bob suggests add a conduit, 1/2 in. minimum.
Yanche
Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Stoker Boiler burning Anthracite Pea Coal

User avatar
gaw
Member
Posts: 2608
Joined: Fri. Jan. 26, 2007 2:51 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice from Schuylkill County
Location: Parts Unknown

Post Fri. Jul. 04, 2008 8:24 am

Bob wrote:If you are installing in conduit an alternative is to put a stong string in so that you can pull new wire in the future if necessary.
Yanche wrote:If you put your circulator pump on the boiler in the garage you will need control wires. Do as Bob suggests add a conduit, 1/2 in. minimum.
Or even 1 1/2" conduit. You will not be sorry for using oversize conduit but you will be if you use undersized conduit.
Some people make the world happen;
More watch the world happen;
Most wonder what happened.
Its your choice, Which group you want to belong to….

If a man is a fool, you don't train him out of being a fool by sending him to university. You merely turn him into a trained fool, ten times more dangerous.
Desmond Bagley

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”