Masonry Chimney Knowledge Needed

leoniru
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: H.S. Tarm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Circulator, Warm Morning
Coal Size/Type: chestnut
Other Heating: propane; wood

Post by leoniru » Thu. Jul. 19, 2018 12:59 pm

Hello. A genuine rookie/newbie to the forum here. Just joined minutes ago as I am faced with the evermore-likely job of constructing my own masonry chimney. I'm not really looking forward to this as I'm 63 years-old and 'shy' of heights, and will no longer have much disposable income as I've recently retired from full time status to part-time at my job. I've spent several hours a day for quite a few days, online, researching various options for heating the house 'project' that I've been working on for many years. It's finally at the point where I can address the type of heating approach to take.
A bit of background is in order.....I've lived with hand-fired coal (anthracite) stoves my entire life. Am presently using a Warm Morning in the living room and a D S 'Circulator' stove in the kitchen of an old and horribly neglected "company house". Burned 8 ton of chestnut, in addition to using wall-mounted LP ventless heaters and still froze this past winter. Had cook stoves of various makes (in the kitchen) up until a few years ago when I had to replace the rotted "Elmira Stove Works' OVAL. So as you can see, I'm no stranger to heating/living with hand-fired coal stoves.