Cracked Chimney Tiles - Use or install liner

Post Reply
inline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue. Aug. 12, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Chautauqua Co., NY

Post By: inline » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 5:58 pm

I wanted to get opinions on whether this chimney looks safe to use for coal.
Chimney is around 20' tall and runs up through the inside of the house. It is block and tile. Tiles are 11x7 inside.
There was definitely a chimney fire at one time and there are a cracks throughout the length. Cracks range from hairline to 1/4" or so.
I snaked an old iPhone up the entire length to get an idea of how it looked.

So...what does everyone think? Should I install a liner or use as is?
Attachments
IMG_4849.JPG
IMG_4850.JPG
IMG_0017.jpg
IMG_0018.jpg
IMG_0019.jpg
IMG_0020.jpg

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 23422
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post By: freetown fred » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 6:06 pm

Personally--I'd patch anything I could reach & use it. Pack some insulation where pipe goes into thimble.

User avatar
scalabro
Member
Posts: 3345
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2012 9:53 am
Baseburners & Antiques: 2 Crawford 40's, PP Stewart No. 14, Abendroth Bros "Record 40"
Coal Size/Type: Stove / Anthracite.
Other Heating: Oil fired, forced hot air.
Location: Western Massachusetts

Post By: scalabro » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 6:20 pm

Folks on here have used worse I’m sure :D

User avatar
tsb
Member
Posts: 1916
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 8:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Binford 2000
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pioneer top vent
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Saey Hanover II
Baseburners & Antiques: Grander Golden Oak , Glenwood # 6
Coal Size/Type: All of them
Location: Douglassville, Pa

Post By: tsb » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 6:53 pm

For coal, no problem !

Visit DS Stoves

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 10868
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post By: coaledsweat » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 7:23 pm

A liner is the last thing you need. Fire it up.

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 9745
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post By: Lightning » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 8:18 pm

Yep, my chimney is like that or worse. No problem.

inline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue. Aug. 12, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Chautauqua Co., NY

Post By: inline » Fri. Nov. 24, 2017 8:48 pm

Awesome. Thanks for the responses guys.
Hope to have the hearth done this weekend so I can hook up the stove.

Qtown1835
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Sat. Nov. 08, 2014 11:47 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker '81 KA4 (online 1/16/17)
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: EFM SPK600
Location: Quakertown, PA

Post By: Qtown1835 » Sat. Nov. 25, 2017 7:28 am

I would like to sell you a SS liner. PM me for details.... :lol:

Visit DS Stoves

inline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue. Aug. 12, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Chautauqua Co., NY

Post By: inline » Sat. Nov. 25, 2017 9:59 am

hahaha nope. :lol:

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 12672
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post By: Rob R. » Sat. Nov. 25, 2017 10:19 am

As long as the chimney drafts properly, I would not hesitate to use it with a coal stove. I would make sure there is not a big gap around the thimble where it meets the flue tile, and probably smear furnace cement on what ever gaps I could reach.

User avatar
CoalisCoolxWarm
Member
Posts: 1446
Joined: Wed. Jan. 19, 2011 11:41 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: old Sears rebuilt, bituminous- offline as of winter 2014
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Buckwheat
Other Heating: Oil Boiler
Location: Western PA

Post By: CoalisCoolxWarm » Sat. Nov. 25, 2017 3:10 pm

You can run a test. Make a smokey fire with good draft, lay a piece of something non-flammable over the top to mostly cover it and check your house for smoke or smells of fire.

Don't block it very long, and be advised smoke may come our your furnace if you cut the draft too much.

Pretty much any chimney that leaks smoke is unsafe. If it doesn't when pressurized like this, you'll likely have no problems with coal (not wood), as the chimney should always be creating a negative pressure.

If it was an outside chimney, less worry. Being an indoor chimney, you really have to be certain. ;)

inline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue. Aug. 12, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Chautauqua Co., NY

Post By: inline » Sun. Nov. 26, 2017 7:33 pm

CoalisCoolxWarm wrote:
Sat. Nov. 25, 2017 3:10 pm
You can run a test. Make a smokey fire with good draft, lay a piece of something non-flammable over the top to mostly cover it and check your house for smoke or smells of fire.

Don't block it very long, and be advised smoke may come our your furnace if you cut the draft too much.

Pretty much any chimney that leaks smoke is unsafe. If it doesn't when pressurized like this, you'll likely have no problems with coal (not wood), as the chimney should always be creating a negative pressure.

If it was an outside chimney, less worry. Being an indoor chimney, you really have to be certain. ;)
Not easy to get up to the top of the chimney. Its a large Victorian with a steep pitched metal roof.
The chimney drafts extremely well. Total length from basement to the top of the chimney is probably 35' and around 20' from the thimble.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 10868
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post By: coaledsweat » Sun. Nov. 26, 2017 7:56 pm

If the chimney is within the walls of the house it's going to draft very well.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”