Hot Water Coils

West Bath Guy

Post by West Bath Guy » Fri. Jun. 13, 2008 8:26 pm

I am new to heating with coal. I used an old wood/coal stove that was in the house when I bought it to heat last winter. This spring I purchased a new Harman Mark I. I am interested in using a hot water coil to heat water this winter but am hesitant to drill holes in a brand new stove that has a 3 year warranty.

I've been to the hilkoil website and done some background research on their coil products. It seems like a good way to go - basically free hot water but any comments, suggestions or ideas that any one has would be helpful especially if you are using a coil to heat your hot water.

Thanks,
wbg

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Fri. Jun. 13, 2008 10:39 pm

It's unfinished however there is article here describing a thermal siphon loop: https://coalpail.com/coal-heating-encyclopedia/do ... water-coil

Freddy
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined

Post by Freddy » Sat. Jun. 14, 2008 5:21 am

If you use the design in that link, make sure to use "swing check", check valves, not "ball check" or "flow check". Also put a relief valve near the coil near the top.
I think he has one line of thought incorrect.... it does not work because heated water expands, it works because heat rises.
I used to have a hand built coil in a wood stove back in the 70's. It heated water in a tank and water from that tank went to my electric water heater. It knocked the crud out of my electric bill.

What do the coal coils do with too much heat? I had to make my coil smaller because it would boil the water.

CapeCoaler
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove

Post by CapeCoaler » Sat. Jun. 14, 2008 8:43 am