Going With Under Floor Radiant, Have a Few Questions

TSox

Post by TSox » Thu. Jan. 07, 2016 2:59 pm

Hello,
I'm still working on our foreclosed farmhouse and since the people that broke into it decided to cut out half of the copper finned baseboards, I made the decision to dive in and go with under floor radiant heat. I'll need to pull down the ceilings but I think I'll be happier in the long run. When I worked construction I put in quite a few of these systems in slabs but I have no experience with installing under floor joists.

I've talked to numerous people about this from DIY'ers that have done it, to Professionals. The information I get is so varied so I decided to see what you guys think. I've had someone that knows what they're doing come in and help me decide on the loop layout. It will consist of (4) 280' +/- loops for the upstairs and (4) 280'+/- loops for the downstairs. Each floor will be a zone. The basement will also be a zone but It will be heated with cast iron radiators. Water will be heated by my yellow flame stoker.

So far so good?

I did get some useful info from this thread Post by n0useforaname - Radiant Heat, Getting Nervous

After going back and forth on the install, I decided to spend the money on the heat transfer plates. I couldn't find anyone that wished they didn't have them but I did talk to one person that had to go back and add them afterwards because his boiler couldn't keep up. After the plates were added he hasn't had a problem so that tells me there is a little something to them.

My big question is about insulation. I'm getting conflicting info about insulating the ceilings under the second floor. Most people say it's not needed because the space below it will be heated but a few say I should insulate to keep from overheating the first floor. To be honest my budget is stretching thin and I'd like to go without it but I don't want to be kicking myself later.

What do you guys think?

Rob R.
Site Moderator