Coal Vac Operation Video

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Sat. Dec. 28, 2013 8:19 am

titleist1 wrote:
Lightning wrote:Is the coal bin up against one side of the house? Maybe it won't freeze
Unfortunately it is on the north side of the house and is in the shade all the time so it never gets warmed up by the sun. Maybe I should have built the bin around the chimney and run single wall through it!
just a idea to keep coal from freezing if it does... Roof de-icing cable tape? Lay it inside over the coal
Randy
If you have time to make a post looking for free advice, then show some appreciation and say thank you.


User avatar
johnniecuse
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri. Jul. 29, 2011 10:04 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line 110K Boiler
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Lafayette NY

Post Tue. Dec. 31, 2013 4:02 pm

Did you seal the flange when you attached it to the barrel?

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Tue. Dec. 31, 2013 6:41 pm

Yes, the flange was caulked and screwed to the bottom of the barrel to seal it. The piping on the top ports are also caulked to seal them. If air is leaking in those places (or anywhere else) it makes huge difference in the performance of the coal suction.
In fact even if the barrel is mostly full of coal if the pipe on the bottom is not capped it will pull enough air through the coal in the barrel to keep it from sucking in the coal from the outside bin.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

Greyhound
Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun. Jul. 01, 2007 1:04 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 105
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Lenox Oil HA, Heat Pump
Location: Axemann, PA

Post Thu. Jan. 02, 2014 1:05 am

Any idea on how far the 6 HP VAC would pull coal from? Or, how to calculate for a given distance? I ask because my bin is not up against my house and would need to run a pipe about 10-15 feet. Thanks for any ideas.

Rick

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Thu. Jan. 02, 2014 5:23 am

Greyhound wrote:Any idea on how far the 6 HP VAC would pull coal from? Or, how to calculate for a given distance? I ask because my bin is not up against my house and would need to run a pipe about 10-15 feet. Thanks for any ideas.

Rick
On my system 2 vacs is pulling buckwheat up a 45 degree angle that's 10 ft long then 2 ft vertical to bucket... less of incline will increase feed rate and distance.
Randy
If you have time to make a post looking for free advice, then show some appreciation and say thank you.

User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Thu. Jan. 02, 2014 7:31 am

what a fantastic Vid! slow enough for me to actually read the text with my 10th grade education :clap:
Is it possible to make the video come up directly on the forum without downloading that silverlight thingie?
The duct tape, the hangers, the blocker board.... all tell tails that Titleist is a true a American Man! :punk:

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Thu. Jan. 02, 2014 8:07 am

In our li'l county of ceciltuckybama, no project is officially complete until some duct tape and a hanger has been used!! toothy

Regarding the length of pipe, I tested the system this summer before building the bin by filling the front end loader bucket and parking it about 8' from the basement window. Once through the window it makes about a 4' run to the barrel.

Now the end of the pipe in the bin is about 5' from the basement window. My 2" pipe is slightly downhill from the bin to the barrel.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Sat. Jan. 04, 2014 10:46 am

Just an update on the freezing coal question....

I ran the vac to top off the barrel late last night and encountered my first issue. The best I could tell, the coal in the 2" pipe between the basement window and coal bin was frozen. The 2" pipe was empty up to the basement window, I hit the pipe with the rubber mallet just before it goes outside and 'slugs' of coal got sucked into the barrel after about 10 times of this the coal finally started flowing normally. I am guessing the frozen section finally cleared and it got to the unfrozen stuff in the bin.

I am going to open up the bin today and see if I have a coal-berg in there. That heat tape may be necessary after all!
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!


User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Wed. Jan. 08, 2014 10:12 am

just an update for future reference from use over the last couple of arctic days....

the coal in the bin must now be dry enough that any left in the pipe is not freezing as I saw that one time. the vac system has worked fine the last couple days and it sure has been cold enough to freeze anything outside. the coal starts to flow into the barrel when the vac is started without the use of the rubber mallet on the pipe.

when I built the bin I put 5" round vents in the back top two corners of the bin for airflow. the floor of the bin is made of 5/4 deck boards with #8 nail space between them, not solid plywood, so there is a place for the water to drain and airflow from the bottom. The coal was very damp when I put it in there although not sopping wet. I checked it yesterday by poking a shovel into the bin. It was not a frozen coal-berg and the shovel came out dry.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8300
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 08, 2014 7:08 pm

I wonder if you were to get coal early enough in the season if it would dry out by the time to use it. I suppose it might given enough ventilation thru summer. Just a thought :D

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Wed. Jan. 08, 2014 8:07 pm

ya, the plan is to enclose the coal bunker area that can easily hold about 10 ton and get a bulk delivery. Then it would have time to dry some before filling the coal bin that the coal vac is sucking it out of. Right now the bunker is only tarped and I haven't got a bulk delivery, but had been picking up a ton at a time myself and stockpiling.

This year is definitely the worst case scenario for me as far as wet coal goes, but if it didn't freeze the last two days I don't think it will.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

User avatar
mariohotshot
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 10:58 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: 105
Location: Blakeslee, PA

Post Thu. Jan. 16, 2014 6:05 pm

Try wrapping the outside PVC pipe with some foiled insulation.
Wisdom comes from experience. I'm still working on it :)

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Tue. Nov. 25, 2014 9:23 am

This year I added a sloped piece of plywood on the back wall of the outside bin to direct the coal more toward the pipe inlet of the vac system. Instead of metal I used tyvek on the other sloped boards and it held up well during last years use so I put it on this board also.
IMG_20141122_103730.jpg
After putting in the first loader bucket I made a test run of the vac...it pulled it in very well...so then I filled the bin with over a ton of coal.
~PI4160.wmv
(5.65 MiB) Downloaded 86 times
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

User avatar
CoalisCoolxWarm
Member
Posts: 1401
Joined: Wed. Jan. 19, 2011 11:41 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: old Sears rebuilt, bituminous- offline as of winter 2014
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Buckwheat
Other Heating: Oil Boiler
Location: Western PA

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2015 9:08 pm

First, let me say I think this whole "coal vac" to transfer coal and reduce any dust is about the best thing to happen to stokers since the Good Lord made black rocks that burn ;)

I am looking at making a coal vac post-haste. I didn't see the Instructable version post yet, though lots of excellent videos.

A thought about the frozen coal and pipes...

If your vacuum is inside in a heated area, what about switching your vacuum hose to the blower and blowing warm air into the frozen pipe/bin to thaw out a clog?

So if I have this right, 6.5hp with drywall bag and HEPA filter (have it), 2" piping, 45 deg cut at pickup end, (what is this snorkel thing and where should it go and connect?), dust/vortex separator that is very rigid, airtight each connection and section.

And there isn't any REMOTE CONTROL??? You guys are slipping! :lol:
Keystoker KA-6 online January 2015

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Mon. Jan. 12, 2015 10:46 pm

The snorkel is a 1/2" pipe nub at the end of the 2" pipe that keeps the 2" pipe from being coal-logged. StokerDon has a good pic in his thread here...

Experimental Coal Vac

Toward the end of last year I did have some coal freeze issues and your thought about blowing warm air into the bin by swapping the hose to the exhaust port on the vac is exactly what I did. I'd let it run for about 10 minutes and then swap back to vac in the coal. I haven't had to do it this year since the coal has been able to dry in the pole barn before going into the bin.

You have the basics listed there, recently someone had some issues trying to get it to work and used flex pvc spa pipe rather than rigid pvc with 90's. Here is that thread...
Help With Coal Vac?

He mentioned using components from a corn vac product line which might be easier to get than finding the right barrel.

edit to add....remote control is easy....just plug the vac into one of those wireless remote receptacles they sell for outdoor lights...
http://www.smarthome.com/skylink-ws-100a-wireless ... 7AodjAYAyA
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”