Coal-Trol Settings

Brown86
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: leisure line hyfireII
Coal Size/Type: rice/blaschak or reading

Post by Brown86 » Sun. Dec. 15, 2013 7:55 am

This is my first year burning coal. I have an early 1900s 2 story home in the Northeast. I have always burned wood as my primary heat with oil backup. With getting older and time restraints do to my job, taking care of wood was becoming more difficult. So, I did some research and decided on coal over wood pellets. Many people I know are also burning coal and love it. I purchased a LL Hyfire II and have it in my basement. I had a plenum and some new duct work professionally installed. It works really well. My house is at a consistent 74. The problem that I am having is that I feel I am burning more coal than I should. I am basing this only on what others who burn coal have told me. I am going through 3-4 bags/day during our current cold snap (some nights -10 degrees). So, is this the norm or is there something in my coal-trol that needs to be changed? I have it mounted on a first floor inside wall where my oil therm. has always been. I have the min at 6, max 40, and cft 8. It's in the round robin mode. This is pretty much the factory settings. I have both burners running at the present time and the feed rate rarely ever gets above 50. Usually is much lower. 1 burner works too hard at our current temps and coal is wasted by falling into ash pan before completely burning. I freely admit that I don't understand all the different settings. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Flyer5
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer

Post by Flyer5 » Sun. Dec. 15, 2013 9:46 am