KA6 With Too Much Draft.

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 1:37 pm

I'm wasting heat....I have a manometer and my ka6 runs around +8 for draft. It should be -.02. I literally screwed my barometric damper shut. Before that I was over 12. Its 8" from the boiler but necks to 7" through into the chimney and is a brick flue through the middle of the house....from the basement out through the center peak of the attic....probably near 30'. Any way to lower my draft aside from installing a damper in the pipe to wean it back?


User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 1:48 pm

Whoa Big Fella! PLUS .8 or Minus .8???
No matter where you go,......there you are.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 1:49 pm

Damper reduces draft, not increases it. Where are you measuring the draft???
No matter where you go,......there you are.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 1:51 pm

What manometer are you using, what scale are you reading and which port is the hose plugged into??? Things MAY not be as bad as they seem!
No matter where you go,......there you are.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 1:57 pm

Its a Bacarat (sp?) And I'm using it through the door hole like the manual says. And its on the positive side of the scale. Never had a CO problem or anything. I'll take a pic when I get home.

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10382
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:03 pm

BennyLumpkin wrote:Its a Bacarat (sp?) And I'm using it through the door hole like the manual says. And its on the positive side of the scale. Never had a CO problem or anything. I'll take a pic when I get home.
If it is truly positive you have a CO problem and a very dangerous situation. If it is running I would suggest going home right now and shutting it down. Serious!
http://www.leisurelinestove.com


You know when people say it was "better back in my day"?

They were right.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11350
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:03 pm

So you are saying the firebox is pressurized? Have you tried closing the air shutter on the main combustion blower?

Please list how many tees and elbows are in the flue pipe.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:14 pm

I'm smart enough to know there is an CO problem for several reasons. first one is there is a CO detector about 10 feet away from it and the other is this is the second winter I've had in there.there is a possibility I'm not reading the manometer correctly.


BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:23 pm

Like I said, I'll post pics when I get home to make sure I'm reading it correctly.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:35 pm

Roger that. We'll all be waiting! :D if this is your second season and it did the same thing last year and the CO detector works and never has gone off, things may not be great but they probably aren't horrible with your KA6.
No matter where you go,......there you are.

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4679
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:40 pm

BennyLumpkin wrote:I'm wasting heat....I have a manometer and my ka6 runs around +8 for draft. It should be -.02. I literally screwed my barometric damper shut. Before that I was over 12. Its 8" from the boiler but necks to 7" through into the chimney and is a brick flue through the middle of the house....from the basement out through the center peak of the attic....probably near 30'. Any way to lower my draft aside from installing a damper in the pipe to wean it back?
OK, you have your manometer hooked up backwards. Since you say you have too much draft, then it's .-08. you also are misunderstanding what a barometric damper does. It does not increase draft. (you've got it screwed shut) It reduces draft. Unscrew that pupppy and adjust it, once you correctly hookup your manometer, to .02. It sucks air in and reduces the draft in your firebox.
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 2:46 pm

I understand how the damper works. I'm more familiar with oil boilers and forced air. The type of manometer I'm using can't be backward. Its a one tube test unit. I'll post a pic. More than likely I'm reading it wrong

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 4:43 pm

Ok here is the unit I'm using.

Image

I looked closer and now see I was reading it backward but I'm still around -.6. Adjusting the flapper changes it none and If I unscrew the damper it gets much higher or I guess you'd say lower....almost maxes the negative side. Here is a pic with the air flap about half and the damper screwed shut

Image

Give me a few minutes and I'll post a pic with the damper unscrewed

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 4:51 pm

Image

Well I just did some fiddling and now I realized I was reading it wrong its now reading here

Well now I feel silly lol.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 5:01 pm

My flame looks much better also. I'm sure I'll have some readjusting to do. As has been said before, the manual sucks. Since I'm good with my draft should I let my air shutter alone and just adjust my coal feed as needed? I haven't counted lately but its somewhere between 10 and 15 turns. I keep it at 2-3 inches of dead ash on the end of the grates.


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”