Manometer Troubles

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
philthy
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat. Nov. 09, 2013 9:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoke Koker Lite, Alaska Kast Konsole
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6, Glenwood #116
Location: Newville PA

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 11:20 am

Was wondering if anyone can offer any insight to some manometer issues I've been having. Yesterday I hooked up a new to me Hitzer 82-fa. Mano was working fine until furnace started huffing back thru the Baro (operator error which was corrected). Since that, my Mano is all over the place. Unhooked it reads zero. Hooked it goes from reading nothing all the way up to 1.0. Ive checked for blockages and found nothing. Is it possibles that the Mano is broke? Pretty simple device so I'm not sure if that's possible.
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg
Fortune always favors the brave,
and never helps a man who does not help himself.
P. T. Barnum

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8300
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 11:29 am

Huh..... wish I could help. Maybe you should drain it completely and refill it. I dunno if that would help or not.

User avatar
michaelanthony
Member
Posts: 3987
Joined: Sat. Nov. 22, 2008 10:42 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove, vogelzang pot belly coat rack
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: Coal Contractor's stove, a little Kimmels 'nut
Other Heating: Very cold FHA oil furnace
Location: millinocket,me.
Contact:

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 11:30 am

Smoke test the baro and all the exhaust pipes to see if you have a draw first. Is C.O. detector working with new battery? Do you have an m.p.d.? Cover baro and check manometer. Do you have Make up air for the furnace room? Try opening a window when appliances are running. Are the 2 appliances hooked to the same chimney? Many questions I know but safety is key! More pic's of the pipes may help us.
never yell through a screen...you'll strain your voice.


User avatar
philthy
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat. Nov. 09, 2013 9:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoke Koker Lite, Alaska Kast Konsole
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6, Glenwood #116
Location: Newville PA

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 11:43 am

Covered Mano with zero change. It is single appliance set up and it's in the basement which is far from air tight. Smoke test did show some draw but Mano worked fine until huffing. Suppose I should drain it and start from scratch.
Attachments
image.jpg
Fortune always favors the brave,
and never helps a man who does not help himself.
P. T. Barnum

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8300
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 11:45 am

First pull the tubes and blow thru them to be sure they are clear. Be careful not to force any saliva thru the tube.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8437
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 12:03 pm

I would get rid of the loop in the tubing which acts as a trap.


User avatar
philthy
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat. Nov. 09, 2013 9:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoke Koker Lite, Alaska Kast Konsole
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6, Glenwood #116
Location: Newville PA

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 12:06 pm

I think I fixed it. Took the tube out to the shop and blew thru it with compressed air. Hooked back up and working! :oops: :oops:
Fortune always favors the brave,
and never helps a man who does not help himself.
P. T. Barnum

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8300
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 12:08 pm

philthy wrote:I think I fixed it. Took the tube out to the shop and blew thru it with compressed air. Hooked back up and working! :oops: :oops:
Cool, I've had mine get clogged in the past when I tried some bituminous coal lol

User avatar
philthy
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat. Nov. 09, 2013 9:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoke Koker Lite, Alaska Kast Konsole
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6, Glenwood #116
Location: Newville PA

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 12:43 pm

Thanks for the help guys!
Fortune always favors the brave,
and never helps a man who does not help himself.
P. T. Barnum

User avatar
michaelanthony
Member
Posts: 3987
Joined: Sat. Nov. 22, 2008 10:42 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove, vogelzang pot belly coat rack
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: Coal Contractor's stove, a little Kimmels 'nut
Other Heating: Very cold FHA oil furnace
Location: millinocket,me.
Contact:

Post Sat. Nov. 30, 2013 12:46 pm

:clap:
never yell through a screen...you'll strain your voice.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”