Connecting Koker to Duct Work

Post Reply
tao52
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Sep. 04, 2013 4:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystone Koker

Post Sun. Sep. 29, 2013 1:17 pm

I just got a Keystone Koker delivered, and it is sitting nice and pretty in my basement, however I don't really care about heating the basement. I want to know what is the easiest way to connect the 11'' x 19'' opening in the top of the stove to direct the heat to the first floor of the house. Been lurking here for several months now, and so far have learned a lot from you guys. Thanks in advance for any/all help that I get.

Allan-

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Sun. Sep. 29, 2013 3:45 pm

whats ur lay out like..?
are you close to the existing furnace / ductwork ??
are you leaving the existing furnace and plan on using both?

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Sep. 29, 2013 5:54 pm

What goes up...must come down...you need cold air returns too. ;)

CoaLen
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed. Apr. 09, 2008 7:05 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: Geauga County, NE Ohio

Post Sun. Sep. 29, 2013 6:55 pm

There's a forum member that's only about a step and a half ahead of you.
Check this out:
Post by CoaLen - Koker 160 Setup
-Len


tao52
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Sep. 04, 2013 4:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystone Koker

Post Sun. Sep. 29, 2013 10:24 pm

My layout is a 1800 sq. ft. 2 story house with unfinished basement. The Koker is in basement. The existing heat source was an oil boiler, so no existing duct work in the house. I do know about the cold air return. My idea plan right now is to install duct work from the 11x19 opening in the top of the koker to a floor vent on the first floor. The Koker is near the front of the house and the return would be another floor vent that I would install near the back of the house. My biggest question right now is where to find duct work that is 11 x 19 to actually connect to the Koker. My other question is am I even on the right path of getting the heat to the first floor.

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Sun. Sep. 29, 2013 10:57 pm

why didnt you choose a coal boiler ?

tao52
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Sep. 04, 2013 4:15 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystone Koker

Post Mon. Sep. 30, 2013 12:15 am

Didnt choose a coal boiler because of issues with the copper piping that exist in the house. There have already been multiple pinhole leaks in the copper pipes 8 over 4 years, it is an old house and I decided it would be easier and better to go with forced air instead of waiting for leaks to happen. It was a 3 zone boiler baseboard system, so I have pipes in every room on every floor.

I just don't know where to buy ducting in the size of 11x19 to connect to the Koker.

CoaLen
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed. Apr. 09, 2008 7:05 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: Geauga County, NE Ohio

Post Mon. Sep. 30, 2013 7:51 am

http://www.graymetal.com/catalog/Gray%20Metal%207_2012.pdf

Call Graymetal Products for the name and phone number of a distributor near you.


Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Mon. Sep. 30, 2013 8:12 am

personally I would recommend fabbing a plenum first....but as far as using "stock" pieces of ductwork your easiest find will probably be in a 12" x 20" size....which would fit nicely over the opening you are descibing...then take off from there

vulcan
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu. Sep. 13, 2012 2:21 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: keystoker koker 160
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby rear vent
Location: NEPA wilkes Barre - scranton area

Post Mon. Sep. 30, 2013 8:42 am

I installed a koker in a similar type house last year and am happy with it. I made my own plenum out of sheet metal and used 1/2 angle iron as a base to support it and mount to the top of my unit. I then ran three 8 inch ducts out of the plenum and installed 3 floor vents each with its own damper to control flow as desired. I had no previous experience with this type of thing but if common sense is used it should work out for you. I would want to run at least 2 if not more take offs from the plenum when using a unit the size of a koker and a 1500 cfm blower.

sharkman8810
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed. Mar. 05, 2008 7:27 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: hitzer 82 ul
Coal Size/Type: nut
Stove/Furnace Make: hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 82 u.l.
Location: south central pa

Post Wed. Oct. 02, 2013 8:47 pm

Well you can chop a BIG VENT in the floor like they did in the old days and duct the whole thing into one space or build an airtight plenum and run branches off of it to various rooms. Building the plenum is probably the trickiest then use stock 8" or 6" lines from that. Definetly don't forget the cold air returns, and use more than one for more even heat distribution.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”