Newb - Verify Existing Chimney Will Suffice for Coal Stove

User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:12 pm

I'm looking to install a Harman Mark II. The existing stove is an older wood stove with an 8 inch flue that needs to go. The chimney has 3 flues. One is being used for propane, one for oil, and the last is for the existing stove. The chimney is well over the 16 ft minimum height required by the manufacturer.

The instructions for the Karman state the flue should be 8in x 8in. My flue is 6.5 in x 10.5 in. so flue size in square inches is very close.

I want to burn wood in the early part of the year until it gets colder and then burn only coal. As far as venting is concerned, are there any issues with my current set up? Sorry but I'm a newb here. Thanks for any help

Image

Image

Image

Image
Last edited by skobydog on Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.


User avatar
KLook
Member
Posts: 3650
Joined: Sun. Feb. 17, 2008 1:08 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Harman VF 3000
Coal Size/Type: rice, bagged, Blaschak
Other Heating: Gas boiler backup/main
Stove/Furnace Model: VF 3000
Location: Harrison, Tenn

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:15 pm

IF it is solid enough for wood, it will handle coal just fine. Just be sure and seal the pipe leading to the chimney well and get a device to measure your draft. Probably the most critical thing. Many will argue at length about barometric dampers and wood/coal setups. I will leave that to others.

Kevin

waldo lemieux
Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Sun. Sep. 30, 2012 8:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: s-20
Location: Ithaca,NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:21 pm

What klook said and A NEW CO DETECTOR MOUNTED SOMEWHERE NEAR THE STOVE! The chimney looks fine.

User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:35 pm

KLook wrote:IF it is solid enough for wood, it will handle coal just fine. Just be sure and seal the pipe leading to the chimney well and get a device to measure your draft. Probably the most critical thing. Many will argue at length about barometric dampers and wood/coal setups. I will leave that to others.

Kevin
House was built in 1976 so I just wanted to make sure. I'll have to figure out how to measure the draft. I'm not expecting an issue as the chimney is quite high. Thanks for both replies

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:42 pm

Looks good inside the house so should draft well...
Look on the site for Manometer...
Everything you wanted to know...
And then some... ;)

User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3112
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 8:15 pm

gosh I love a terra cotta flu :clap:

added to what the others have said...

Your 6.5 in x 10.5 is perfectly fine for that stove (or most any other for that matter). capping that flu is not important If you run your stove 24/7 during the winter (that would evaporate anything coming down), but if you don't than I would put a cap on that flu (coal ash being drizzled with rain water eats stove pipe so fast it would make your head spin), you should be very happy you have a terra cotta flu in place which is perfect for coal! there's some easy, fairly inexpensive caps that can clamp right to it that will do the job.

as with everyone else... Im steering clear of the baro/mpd recommendations (just roll with the manufactures recommendations or review the threads here about it), because that whole subject gets pretty hot..."no pun intended" :blowup:

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 7045
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 8:26 pm

If your going to burn wood I would not cap the chimney.

I would also make sure that lightning rod is on the propane flue. Not a big deal but better than being on the wood flue.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11522
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 8:31 pm

Chimney looks good, I'd run it just the way it is. Welcome.


User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1854
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 8:49 pm

Many would kill for your chimney setup, check your draft with stove installed, CO detectors are a must, enjoy your heat!

User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 11:44 pm

2001Sierra wrote:Many would kill for your chimney setup
What makes this chimney setup special? I'm just trying to educate myself.

User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3112
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Tue. Sep. 03, 2013 3:38 am

skobydog wrote:
2001Sierra wrote:Many would kill for your chimney setup
What makes this chimney setup special? I'm just trying to educate myself.
Because you have a 3 flu chimney, lead flashed, insulated, with large terra cotta liners. You should do a lil' bit of 20 year maintenance to the top of it though when you can (get some chalking tubes of mortar and fill those crakes that water can penetrate).

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Tue. Sep. 03, 2013 5:15 am

skobydog wrote:
2001Sierra wrote:Many would kill for your chimney setup
What makes this chimney setup special? I'm just trying to educate myself.
Main reason it'll handle 3 heat source without a problem. The biggest plus it's not stainless steel, coal ash is very acidic when moisture is present and will rot SS.

User avatar
michaelanthony
Member
Posts: 4078
Joined: Sat. Nov. 22, 2008 10:42 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove, vogelzang pot belly coat rack
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: Coal Contractor's stove, a little Kimmels 'nut
Other Heating: Very cold FHA oil furnace
Location: millinocket,me.
Contact:

Post Tue. Sep. 03, 2013 8:33 am

I am also fortunate to have a 3 flu chimney in the center of the home, many have to build an additional chimney or run s.s. double or triple wall which can get pricey!

User avatar
skobydog
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon. Jun. 10, 2013 9:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Greenfield MA

Post Tue. Sep. 03, 2013 2:48 pm

dcrane wrote:
skobydog wrote: What makes this chimney setup special? I'm just trying to educate myself.
Because you have a 3 flu chimney, lead flashed, insulated, with large terra cotta liners. You should do a lil' bit of 20 year maintenance to the top of it though when you can (get some chalking tubes of mortar and fill those crakes that water can penetrate).
I knew it needed some work on top. I'll have to figure something out as I don't do well with heights.

I'm happy the chimney has 3 flues. I wasn't sure at first. I also didn't know what terra cotta liners were. :oops:

Here's the old stove, there was nothing holding the stove pipe together. I was able to remove all of the stove pipe by hand. I don't think this stove was used much and if so, probably a long time ago. This is all good information for me. I've never dealt with burning any type of solid fuel before. Thanks all

Image

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8592
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Tue. Sep. 03, 2013 3:02 pm

Clearance to the walls is much too tight on the old stove. You are going to have to change things for almost any stove.


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”