Is It Possible to Build a Chimney.

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
kytara7
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat. Dec. 13, 2008 8:15 am
Stove/Furnace Make: warm morning
Stove/Furnace Model: 460 b

Post Sun. Aug. 04, 2013 2:59 pm

Is it possible
To build a brick chimney here?
Attachments
IMG_7618.JPG
IMG_7619.JPG

User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1844
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Sun. Aug. 04, 2013 10:47 pm

Where? Can you give us an idea as to its location?
Thanks

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 6915
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Sun. Aug. 04, 2013 11:27 pm

Also, where is the stove going? First floor, basement..


User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Mon. Aug. 05, 2013 6:43 am

strip back the vinyl and move that upstairs window into proper alignment with the lower basement window (everything is easier from that point, may just have to call Verizon to move the Fios box). Run a strait shot of square cinder block with clay flu inside right up as nearest the roof peek as you can (but not moving the elec. service), paint the cinderblock to match the siding. Very low cost, last forever, closer to the roof peak you can get it the better for aesthetics.

kytara7
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat. Dec. 13, 2008 8:15 am
Stove/Furnace Make: warm morning
Stove/Furnace Model: 460 b

Post Sun. Aug. 11, 2013 10:13 am

It will be on the first floor and I don't think I want to be moving windows around and that case the chimney would probaly be to close to the window right?

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9822
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Sun. Aug. 11, 2013 3:33 pm

The chimney blocks are 18-24" IIRC. I would guess putting it against the face of the porch would give you plenty of room from the window.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.


fifthg
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon. Aug. 03, 2009 10:11 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: warm morning # 500
Baseburners & Antiques: Peninsular Western Hot Blast No.44K and Reading Foundry & Supply Co.
Coal Size/Type: Egg,stove,nut,pea,buck,and rice -Gale Mining Co Anthracite
Location: southern anthracite field,Schuylkill County,Pa.

Post Sun. Aug. 11, 2013 6:28 pm

consider a direct vent like the Harman DVC 500,the additional cost of a DVC would pale in comparison to a brick chimney in that location,on top of the cost of whatever heating unit you are considering to hook into it

User avatar
whistlenut
Member
Posts: 3549
Joined: Sat. Mar. 17, 2007 6:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska, EFM, Keystoker, Yellow Flame
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska, Keystoker-2,Leisure Line
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska, Gibraltar, Keystone,Vc Vigilant 2
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Ford, Jensen, NYer, Van Wert,
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwoods
Coal Size/Type: Barley, Buck, Rice ,Nut, Stove
Other Heating: Oil HWBB
Location: Central NH, Concord area

Post Mon. Aug. 12, 2013 9:26 am

Sure, you can build a chimney on that gable end, HOWEVER, you will need a large footing, below frost level just to start. I would say the chimney would be about 38' tall, perhaps more, and it would require proper staging to be safe. That makes the cost hover around 2500 to 4k for a starting point. You may want to rethink the situation, however long term it could be a very good investment. A power vent would drop the cost vastly, so please don't think you HAVE to use any particular stove. You have other options! :idea:
Last edited by whistlenut on Mon. Aug. 12, 2013 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a 'piece of human solid waste' by the clean end." More true today....

kytara7
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat. Dec. 13, 2008 8:15 am
Stove/Furnace Make: warm morning
Stove/Furnace Model: 460 b

Post Mon. Aug. 12, 2013 9:38 am

That power vent can't be used on hand fired stoves.i guess I will be looking at diferent options.Am I corect on the power vent.

User avatar
whistlenut
Member
Posts: 3549
Joined: Sat. Mar. 17, 2007 6:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska, EFM, Keystoker, Yellow Flame
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska, Keystoker-2,Leisure Line
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska, Gibraltar, Keystone,Vc Vigilant 2
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Ford, Jensen, NYer, Van Wert,
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwoods
Coal Size/Type: Barley, Buck, Rice ,Nut, Stove
Other Heating: Oil HWBB
Location: Central NH, Concord area

Post Mon. Aug. 12, 2013 9:46 am

I understand your dilemma, and the trade-off wanting a hand fed stove. No, a power vent cannot be used with a hand fed anything. PM me if you would like my take on this situation.
"Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a 'piece of human solid waste' by the clean end." More true today....

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”