Fine Tuning the Feed Rate MAX on a Coal-Trol

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
User avatar
spc
Member
Posts: 1803
Joined: Sat. Jan. 06, 2007 9:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Rhode Island

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 9:50 am

Should we be fine tuning the max feed rate to get 1" to 1-1/2" of ash at edge of grate for more efficient operation? Will it cause over shoots? Thanks.
Stephen
"Lord, free me of myself so I can please You." - Michaelangelo
“Christianity has not been tried and found false — it’s been tried and found too difficult.”-C.S. Lewis


User avatar
smith10210
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 9:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 50-93
Location: Near Buffalo, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 10:43 am

Mines about a inch or so away set at 43max when burning on max FR for awhile. I just leave mine at 40 because my FR usually only goes to 50 or 60..

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 10:47 am

Depends on how much heat is needed to satisfy the thermostat, mine is at Max. 48 and still have a good 1-2" of ash and it cranks out the heat when needed. I don't think I need to tune it up any more. It has more in it if needed, mine is only running 50-70% of max of the stove and seems to keep up nicely. I would probably roast myself if cranked any higher.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

wally61
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue. Nov. 22, 2005 9:04 am
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: channing III dv coal-trol
Location: sliver creek n,y.

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 1:10 pm

my max feed rate is set at 24 if it gets real cold like in the single digets than I turn it up to 28 and it will keep up but when it gets to the 20's I turn back down to 24. when I got the coal trol I was having pretty good overshoots set at max. I talked to paul or neil do not remember which one but he said because my stove is set to heat a 2500 sgft house and mine is only 1600 I should turn down max. seemed to work for me. I love this thing. my min is at 4 anybody go lower than this? I have a direct vent alaska channig

bksaun
Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat. Oct. 28, 2006 9:24 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid, Gentleman Janitor GJ-6RSU/ EFM 700
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 503
Coal Size/Type: Pea Stoker/Bit, Pea or Nut Anthracite
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer/ EFM-Gentleman Janitor
Stove/Furnace Model: 503 Insert/ 700/GJ-62
Location: Hustonville, Ky

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 2:41 pm

My Channing III is set Min4, Max42.

BK
"Corn Stoves", It is morally wrong to burn something you can make into Whiskey!

BK

wally61
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue. Nov. 22, 2005 9:04 am
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: channing III dv coal-trol
Location: sliver creek n,y.

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 3:13 pm

hey bk I have talked to you before you have a huge house correct. compared to mine. I have redone every room in house. I have 9 ft ceilings. don't know if I spelled that right. have you gone below 4 on min? I do not get over shoots when it is warm. sometimes when I do not turn up max my temp will be 2-3 degrees below what I have it set at until we get up and start to move air around. your thoughts?

bksaun
Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat. Oct. 28, 2006 9:24 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid, Gentleman Janitor GJ-6RSU/ EFM 700
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 503
Coal Size/Type: Pea Stoker/Bit, Pea or Nut Anthracite
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer/ EFM-Gentleman Janitor
Stove/Furnace Model: 503 Insert/ 700/GJ-62
Location: Hustonville, Ky

Post Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 3:49 pm

Mine will slowly go out if I set my Min below 4, I am heating 1500Sq ft story and a half, 75 year old house with 9ft ceilings. I don't have any overshoot more than 1 degree ever. I use my fan on my furnace to move the air.

BK
"Corn Stoves", It is morally wrong to burn something you can make into Whiskey!

BK

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Jan. 04, 2008 8:20 am

I bumped mine from 48 to Max 50 last night to see what it would do, WOW, it raised the stove temp almost 50 degrees on the front, it was 450 this morning, A little overshoot by 1-2 degrees. It's cranking right along! Phew. Supposed to get warmer, the few days....
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


coldwind
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu. Jun. 19, 2008 4:48 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: LL
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer LE
Location: Maine

Post Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 11:00 am

I fired up my new LL Pioneer a week ago and been running since. Temps outside were about 65-70* for highs and mid 50*s at night. Factory settings were 4 min and 40 max. Bumped min up to 5 (not much I know) to make sure fire did not die out or under draft. My FR was 19% when it was 70* out, while trying to keep basement at 80*. The last day or two outside temps have been dropping. This morning it was 32* when I got up. Basement was at 80*, but FR was up to 96%. Now my questions are: Should I raise min speed a few points so that if it gets warmer out and stove is still running I can be sure of maintaining draft? And should I, as it gets colder on average outside, raise the max setting as high as possible without sending unburned coal to the ash pan at 100% FR? Seems like yes is obvious answer but with factory settings where they were and other posters min/max numbers, I don't want to stray too far w/o advice.

User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 11:51 am

check the coal trol testing thread under leisure lines board it sounds good

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:08 pm

I ususally don't touch mine, except maybe 1-2 points on the max to get a little more out of the stove if it's really cold. I haven't changed the min. setting, I have run mine at 65 degrees outside without going out.

You shoudl have a manometer or draft gauge to check to make sure you have some draft when warm outside. When warm, mine is really low (.01-.02), but still pulls up the chimney.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sat. Oct. 04, 2008 3:12 pm

coldwind,

You could probably turn that MIN up to 6 or so if you like. Anything more probably won't be necessary. If you're concerned about undrafting then I suggest getting a hold of a manometer and seeing what you're pulling while it is still warmish out, or roll with it for the fall and check it in the spring. You shouldn't have any issues in the winter. On the MAX, you are right, you want to get it adjusted as high as possible while maintaining a good inch to 1.5" or so of ash at the end of the grate.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Sat. Oct. 04, 2008 6:47 pm

check out the manomater loaner program here in the forum

lizzy49
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat. Sep. 20, 2008 9:37 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer

Post Sat. Oct. 04, 2008 7:38 pm

What is the highest anyone has their max free rate set at on the coal-trol digital thermostat?? Just curious??

User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Sun. Oct. 05, 2008 12:00 am

I had mine set at 97 when running the Harman Magnum.
Matthaus
Leisure Line Stove Company
http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”