Stove With Coal-Trol Won't Shut Off?

Mike E

Post by Mike E » Sun. Dec. 30, 2007 4:25 pm

Hello!

I'm new to coal, not to mention the coal-trol devise. I installed my stove over the course of the past few days, and just wired the coal trol up last night. today is my very first time lighting the stove. The stove itself is a Keystoker 90K, and the coal trol was an orig equip piece sent from the factory. I had a bit of an issue getting the fire started, but now she's going well.. in fact, too well. The thermo doesn't seem to have any control over the thing! I have the thermo set for 70 and now she's well over that at 79 and climbing. In fact, when I first turned the stove on in my finished, but unheated otherwise basement, it was 58 degrees down there. I pushed the "down" button to override the 0 setting to bring it up to just 65 degrees (the paint was burning in off the stove for it's first run and the stink was killing me...) but she just kept climbing. I'm very close to just unplugging the thing now and shutting it down. Unfortunately, I'm having a party for new years here tomorrow and it sure would be nice to have heat in the basement where the party will be! Can anyone advise? I can't call the factory right now because it's sunday... Any ideas?

Mike

xackley

Post by xackley » Sun. Dec. 30, 2007 4:55 pm

I do not have a keystoker so this should be taken with a grain.

I believe the keystoker has a separate combustion fan, and stoker motor.
Make sure that the stoker motor is not receiving constant power. Might be plugged into the wrong outlet. It should be turning off and on.
There is a test mode on the Thermostat, hold the Menu button down over 5 seconds, the display will say Feed, Press the menu button again and it will cycle the motors.
--------------
Press down Menu until the word Setup appears.

Check the Min, you might need to reduce the number