Replacing Thimble

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21400
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 9:22 pm

L, do you have an MPD or Baro in your black pipe--you've just got to watch & make sure she's not running away flame wise--adjust your under air to --oh hell, I'm not sure what the mark II has for air inlet--BUT--how does she seem to be doing? I'm going to guess you're figuring it out. It's a lot of common sense my friend--keep us posted You DO have Carbon Monoxide detectors in the basement & at the top of the stairs--YES????
"A people that values it's privileges above it's principals, soon loses both"--Dwight D Eisenhower

loxety
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri. Feb. 15, 2013 10:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut
Location: Winchester, VA

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 9:43 pm

freetown fred wrote:L, do you have an MPD or Baro in your black pipe--you've just got to watch & make sure she's not running away flame wise--adjust your under air to --oh hell, I'm not sure what the mark II has for air inlet--BUT--how does she seem to be doing? I'm going to guess you're figuring it out. It's a lot of common sense my friend--keep us posted You DO have Carbon Monoxide detectors in the basement & at the top of the stairs--YES????
I've got the air intake knob open two full turns. The house seems to be heating up well. I have Carbon Monoxide (digital readout) and Fire Detector on the apposing wall/ceiling in the same room as the stove. Fire detectors in most rooms in the house, I just tested them all yesterday. I need to get a couple more CO detectors for the top of the stairs and the bedrooms. What else am I missing? Oh I was going to get a big bag of sand as was suggested in case I have to put a fire out quick.

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21400
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 9:56 pm

Sounds real good. Post how she's doing in the AM if you can.
"A people that values it's privileges above it's principals, soon loses both"--Dwight D Eisenhower

loxety
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri. Feb. 15, 2013 10:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut
Location: Winchester, VA

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 10:02 pm

Wiz wrote:This will help you on draft. Manometer Install
Thank you! I don't have a manometer or baro yet.


User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 11:45 pm

when I was burning a mark III, in my set up two full turns would have been too much air flow resulting in too hot a fire and too short a burn time.

The manometer is necessary to tell you what your draft is. The baro or manual damper would help hold heat in the stove and lengthen the burn time.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

loxety
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri. Feb. 15, 2013 10:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut
Location: Winchester, VA

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 8:24 am

freetown fred wrote:Sounds real good. Post how she's doing in the AM if you can.
Woke up this morning, the house is 60f. The only a four to five inch area of coals are lit. I opened the ash pan door to get more air flow.

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11914
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 8:32 am

Sounds like your pulling too much draft. The coal is all burned, ashed up, & done.

I run my Mark III 2 turns out and it runs 24 hours. I set the baro that's on the oil burner (shared flu) to .04".

Until you get a mano & baro, try running it at 1 turn out & see how much heat you get. If that's too low, try 1.5 turns out.
The laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are
neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. ...Such laws make things worse
for the assaulted and better for the assailants, they serve rather to
encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with
greater confidence than an armed man."

- Thomas Jefferson, quoting 18th century criminologist Cesare Beccaria in "On
Crimes and Punishment."

loxety
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri. Feb. 15, 2013 10:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut
Location: Winchester, VA

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 4:38 pm

SMITTY wrote:Sounds like your pulling too much draft. The coal is all burned, ashed up, & done.
There were a lot of coals left.. only maybe 1/4 were burned up this morning.. I think its just the fire had died from not enough air to the firebox, only coals in like a 4-5 inch circle in the middle were still lit. I ended up restarting the coals after cleaning out the firebox and staring with some small amount of wood and news paper. Its now still burning all the old coal I started with about 24 hours ago, maybe additional 1/8th has burned up since this morning since re-adjusting the air intake. Seems to me like this stove will use about 40 lbs every two days or so. My wife picked up a couple of those magnetic thermometers from the local stove shop. I am still trying got get the hang of the temp of the stove and how many turns of the air inlet dial is needed for a certain stove temp. 2x of the dial gives me constant 300 degrees on the stove. 2.5 gives 400 degrees. I had the dial open only half a turn before bed maybe that why it died like it did. Its been in the mid 30's here during the day and mid 20's at night. I have an old house that has no insulation in the walls or floors, I put R-60 fiberglass in the attic a few years after I moved in, as well as plastic on the windows and caulking the quarter rounds on the floor boards. It doesn't take much to heat up this 1800sqft of space. Its about 75f in the house now! :D
Attachments
Fire.jpg


User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 5:24 pm

Looks like a nice blue lady fire!!

Make sure you fill the firebox to the top of the firebrick with coal. The more you can fit in there, the better, mound it up in the middle. It won't burn hotter with the extra coal if you limit the air intake with the spinner. It will burn more complete and longer.

Make sure you shake it down real good too. if there is ash build up somewhere on the grates, that is where the coal will not burn complete.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

loxety
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri. Feb. 15, 2013 10:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut
Location: Winchester, VA

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 6:34 pm

titleist1 wrote:Looks like a nice blue lady fire!!

Make sure you fill the firebox to the top of the firebrick with coal. The more you can fit in there, the better, mound it up in the middle. It won't burn hotter with the extra coal if you limit the air intake with the spinner. It will burn more complete and longer.

Make sure you shake it down real good too. if there is ash build up somewhere on the grates, that is where the coal will not burn complete.
Seems like the coal at the top inch or so doesn't burn only under that space does it burn. I read in another post about throwing ashes on the top to make it burn longer, any experience with this? I've been running the stove at about four hundred degrees sure heats up the house well, 80f in here now. Pretty soon my wife will start opening the windows.

loxety
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri. Feb. 15, 2013 10:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut
Location: Winchester, VA

Post Thu. Feb. 28, 2013 7:21 pm

Put some more coal on top up to the fire brick, making sure to bank the coal (by only placing new coal on the right 3/4 of the fire box, the left 1/4 was left alone with flame showing). Leaving the ash door open for five or ten minutes till the new coal catches (flames showing) then closed the ash pan door for ten minutes or so till flames are showing on the right side. Opened the ash door then the main door a few minutes later and added more coal to the left side. Closed the main door waited ten minutes for all the coal to catch then closed the ash door. Stove when to less then 300f after the first loading of coal, after waiting the ten minutes for the second loading before closing then ash pan door the stove temp is back up to 400f as before. Now what's the cure for a house that's too hot? :D

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”